Louisiana · Practical Nursing

Best colleges for Practical Nursing in Louisiana

Ranked by graduate earnings

Compass Career College, Fletcher Technical Community College and Delta College - Slidell Campus are the top Practical Nursing programs in Louisiana by graduate earnings. Compass Career College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $53,339, College Scorecard. Central Louisiana Technical Community College, South Louisiana Community College and Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Louisiana: 386, 272 and 218 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 22 Louisiana colleges offer Practical Nursing and award 2,230 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…

Institutions
22
offering CIP 51.39
States & territories
56
with a program page
Degrees / yr
2,230
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$47,526
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
16
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,975
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
48%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Nursing Assistants
$32,250
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Compass Career College
Hammond Private for-profit · Certificate
$53,3392159%$13,404$26,278
2Fletcher Technical Community College
Schriever Public · Certificate
$52,6524730%——
3Delta College - Slidell Campus
Slidell Private for-profit · Certificate
$48,1574463%$21,327$20,055
4Delta College of Arts & Technology
Baton Rouge Private for-profit · Certificate
$47,5266765%$19,973$19,999
5River Parishes Community College
Gonzales Public · Certificate
$43,9788330%—$30,029
6Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College
Minden Public · Certificate
$43,92221877%—$14,354
7SOWELA Technical Community College
Lake Charles Public · Certificate
$43,3657943%—$8,000
8Louisiana Delta Community College
Monroe Public · Certificate
$41,5709730%—$20,000
9Baton Rouge Community College
Baton Rouge Public · Certificate
$40,7762431%——
10South Louisiana Community College
Lafayette Public · Certificate
$40,15327230%—$20,214

Colleges awarding the most Practical Nursing degrees in Louisiana

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Central Louisiana Technical Community College
Alexandria Public
386Not reported
2South Louisiana Community College
Lafayette Public
272$40,153
3Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College
Minden Public
218$43,922
4Infinity College
Lafayette Private for-profit
173Not reported
5Northshore Technical Community College
Lacombe Public
122$38,643
6Louisiana Delta Community College
Monroe Public
97$41,570
7River Parishes Community College
Gonzales Public
83$43,978
8SOWELA Technical Community College
Lake Charles Public
79$43,365
9Delta College of Arts & Technology
Baton Rouge Private for-profit
67$47,526
10Williams Technical College
Houma Private for-profit
55Not reported
Show the other 12 Louisiana colleges offering Practical Nursing
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Bossier Parish Community CollegeBossier CityPublic209
Nunez Community CollegeChalmettePublic115
Delgado Community CollegeNew OrleansPublic88
Delta College of Arts & Technology - Lafayette CampusLafayettePrivate for-profit51
Fletcher Technical Community CollegeSchrieverPublic47
Delta College - Slidell CampusSlidellPrivate for-profit44
Delta College IncCovingtonPrivate for-profit38
Baton Rouge Community CollegeBaton RougePublic24
Compass Career CollegeHammondPrivate for-profit21
Healthcare Training InstituteKennerPrivate for-profit21
Blue Cliff College - MetairieMetairiePrivate for-profit15
Petra CollegeHammondPrivate for-profit5

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.3%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~204,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$39,530
typically Postsecondary nondegree award

Top skills

Active ListeningMonitoringReading ComprehensionSpeakingCritical ThinkingActive Learning

What Nursing Assistants earn in Louisiana

Jobs in Louisiana
20,690
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$32,250
median $30,510
Best-paying metro
$34,280
New Orleans-Metairie, LA

Related careers

Nursing Assistants
$32,250 avg · 20,690 jobs
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses
$56,590 avg · 17,600 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Practical Nursing programs in Louisiana.

Which Louisiana colleges award the most Practical Nursing degrees?+

Central Louisiana Technical Community College (386 graduates a year), South Louisiana Community College (272 graduates a year) and Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College (218 graduates a year) award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Louisiana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 22 Louisiana colleges offer Practical Nursing.

What is the best college for Practical Nursing in Louisiana?+

By graduate earnings, Compass Career College leads among Practical Nursing programs in Louisiana, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $53,339, College Scorecard. Fletcher Technical Community College and Delta College - Slidell Campus follow. By degrees awarded, Central Louisiana Technical Community College is the largest, with 386 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Practical Nursing program in Louisiana has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Compass Career College tops the list at $53,339. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Nursing Assistants earn in Louisiana?+

The average annual wage for Nursing Assistants in Louisiana is $32,250 (median $30,510), across about 20,690 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Practical Nursing program?+

The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, monitoring, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Nursing Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +2.3% growth with around 204,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card