Louisiana · Human Development

Best colleges for Human Development in Louisiana

Ranked by graduate earnings

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College, University of Louisiana at Lafayette and Northwestern State University of Louisiana are the top bachelor's Human Development programs in Louisiana by graduate earnings. Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $29,539, College Scorecard. Baton Rouge Community College, Fletcher Technical Community College and Northwestern State University of Louisiana award the most Human Development degrees in Louisiana: 95, 89 and 48 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 18 Louisiana colleges offer Human Development and award 477 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Human Development program, officially titled Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services, focuses on understanding the various aspects of human growth and family dynamics. This interdisciplinary field falls under Family and…

Institutions
18
offering CIP 19.07
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
477
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$26,591
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
9
College Scorecard
Median net price
$25,472
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
37%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Social and Human Service Assistants
$37,300
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 6 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College
Baton Rouge Public · Bachelor's degree
$29,5393069%—$26,750
2University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Lafayette Public · Bachelor's degree
$29,0943353%—$28,250
3Northwestern State University of Louisiana
Natchitoches Public · Bachelor's degree
$27,3734843%—$31,000
4Southern University at New Orleans
New Orleans Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$33,687813%—$56,000
5Louisiana Tech University
Ruston Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$26,5911764%—$21,500
6Grambling State University
Grambling Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$23,0731436%—$53,588

Top 2 certificate and associate programs

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Delgado Community College
New Orleans Public · Associate degree
$21,7092224%—$37,750
2Unitech Training Academy - Lafayette
Lafayette Private for-profit · Certificate Small program
$17,3011255%$25,472$4,394

Colleges awarding the most Human Development degrees in Louisiana

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Baton Rouge Community College
Baton Rouge Public
95Not reported
2Fletcher Technical Community College
Schriever Public
89Not reported
3Northwestern State University of Louisiana
Natchitoches Public
48$27,373
4Northshore Technical Community College
Lacombe Public
42Not reported
5University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Lafayette Public
33$29,094
6Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College
Baton Rouge Public
30$29,539
7Louisiana Tech University
Ruston Public
17$26,591
8Grambling State University
Grambling Public
14$23,073
9Louisiana Delta Community College
Monroe Public
12Not reported
10Nicholls State University
Thibodaux Public
7Not reported
Show the other 8 Louisiana colleges offering Human Development
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Southern University at ShreveportShreveportPublic25
Delgado Community CollegeNew OrleansPublic22
Nunez Community CollegeChalmettePublic18
Unitech Training Academy - LafayetteLafayettePrivate for-profit12
Southern University at New OrleansNew OrleansPublic8
Louisiana State University - EuniceEunicePublic2
Unitech Training Academy - AlexandriaAlexandriaPrivate for-profit2
Bossier Parish Community CollegeBossier CityPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Social and Human Service Assistants (SOC 21-1093).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+6.4%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~50,600
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$45,120
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionMonitoringWritingCritical Thinking

What Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Louisiana

Jobs in Louisiana
3,440
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$37,300
median $35,780
Best-paying metro
$40,420
Lake Charles, LA

Related careers

Childcare Workers
$25,470 avg · 8,000 jobs
Community and Social Service Specialists, All Other
$50,830 avg · 5,730 jobs
Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education
$41,280 avg · 3,570 jobs
Social and Human Service Assistants
$37,300 avg · 3,440 jobs
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All Other
$98,070 avg · 560 jobs
Psychologists, All Other
$103,070 avg · 170 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Human Development programs in Louisiana.

Which Louisiana colleges award the most Human Development degrees?+

Baton Rouge Community College (95 graduates a year), Fletcher Technical Community College (89 graduates a year) and Northwestern State University of Louisiana (48 graduates a year) award the most Human Development degrees in Louisiana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 18 Louisiana colleges offer Human Development.

What is the best college for Human Development in Louisiana?+

By graduate earnings, Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College leads among bachelor's Human Development programs in Louisiana, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $29,539, College Scorecard. University of Louisiana at Lafayette and Northwestern State University of Louisiana follow. By degrees awarded, Baton Rouge Community College is the largest, with 95 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Human Development program in Louisiana has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College tops the list at $29,539. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Louisiana?+

The average annual wage for Social and Human Service Assistants in Louisiana is $37,300 (median $35,780), across about 3,440 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Human Development program?+

The Human Development program, officially titled Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services, focuses on understanding the various aspects of human growth and family dynamics. This interdisciplinary field falls under Family and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, monitoring, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Social and Human Service Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +6.4% growth with around 50,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card