Louisiana · Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians

Best colleges for Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians in Louisiana

Ranked by graduates a year

Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College, South Louisiana Community College and Louisiana Delta Community College award the most Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Louisiana: 56, 15 and 11 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 7 Louisiana colleges offer Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians and award 105 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians program focuses on training students to service and repair heavy machinery and industrial equipment. This program is ideal for individuals interested in mechanics and…

Institutions
7
offering CIP 47.03
States offered
42
with a program page
Degrees / yr
105
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
34%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines
$62,460
BLS OEWS May 2025

7 institutions offering Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians in Louisiana

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College
Minden Public
—5677%——
2Bossier Parish Community College
Bossier City Public
—1715%——
3South Louisiana Community College
Lafayette Public
—1530%——
4Louisiana Delta Community College
Monroe Public
—1130%——
5Nunez Community College
Chalmette Public
—327%——
6River Parishes Community College
Gonzales Public
—230%——
7Baton Rouge Community College
Baton Rouge Public
—131%——

Colleges awarding the most Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians degrees in Louisiana

Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College
Minden Public
56Not reported
2South Louisiana Community College
Lafayette Public
15Not reported
3Louisiana Delta Community College
Monroe Public
11Not reported
4River Parishes Community College
Gonzales Public
2Not reported
5Baton Rouge Community College
Baton Rouge Public
1Not reported
Show the other 2 Louisiana colleges offering Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Bossier Parish Community CollegeBossier CityPublic17
Nunez Community CollegeChalmettePublic3

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines (SOC 49-3042).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+5.8%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~16,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$63,980
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionWritingSpeakingMonitoringActive Listening

What Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines earn in Louisiana

Jobs in Louisiana
4,270
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$62,460
median $62,260
Best-paying metro
$67,970
Lake Charles, LA

Related careers

Industrial Machinery Mechanics
$62,800 avg · 7,410 jobs
Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines
$62,460 avg · 4,270 jobs
Maintenance Workers, Machinery
$66,410 avg · 1,410 jobs
Millwrights
$67,450 avg · 1,080 jobs
Control and Valve Installers and Repairers, Except Mechanical Door
$71,280 avg · 560 jobs
Rail Car Repairers
$53,550 avg · 190 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians programs in Louisiana.

Which Louisiana colleges award the most Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians degrees?+

Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College (56 graduates a year), South Louisiana Community College (15 graduates a year) and Louisiana Delta Community College (11 graduates a year) award the most Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Louisiana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 7 Louisiana colleges offer Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians.

How much do Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines earn in Louisiana?+

The average annual wage for Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines in Louisiana is $62,460 (median $62,260), across about 4,270 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians program?+

The Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians program focuses on training students to service and repair heavy machinery and industrial equipment. This program is ideal for individuals interested in mechanics and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, writing, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines?+

The national job outlook is about +5.8% growth with around 16,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians in other statesMissouriOklahomaMinnesotaMississippiWyomingIllinoisKentuckyMichigan

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card