Best colleges for City/Urban in Kentucky
Ranked by graduates a year
University of Louisville and University of Kentucky award the most City/Urban degrees and certificates in Kentucky: 5 and 1 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 2 Kentucky colleges offer City/Urban and award 6 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning program focuses on the study of urban settlements and their development. It encompasses various disciplines, including geography, sociology, and urban design, to equip students with the…
2 institutions offering City/Urban in Kentucky
Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Louisville Louisville Public | — | 5 | 61% | — | — |
| 2 | University of Kentucky Lexington Public | — | 1 | 71% | — | — |
Colleges awarding the most City/Urban degrees in Kentucky
Top 2 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Louisville Louisville Public | 5 | Not reported |
| 2 | University of Kentucky Lexington Public | 1 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Urban and Regional Planners (SOC 19-3051).
Top skills
What Urban and Regional Planners earn in Kentucky
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing City/Urban programs in Kentucky.
Which Kentucky colleges award the most City/Urban degrees?+
University of Louisville (5 graduates a year) and University of Kentucky (1 graduate a year) award the most City/Urban degrees and certificates in Kentucky, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 2 Kentucky colleges offer City/Urban.
How much do Urban and Regional Planners earn in Kentucky?+
The average annual wage for Urban and Regional Planners in Kentucky is $73,590 (median $65,000), across about 180 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the City/Urban program?+
The City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning program focuses on the study of urban settlements and their development. It encompasses various disciplines, including geography, sociology, and urban design, to equip students with the…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, critical thinking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Urban and Regional Planners?+
The national job outlook is about +3.4% growth with around 3,400 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card