Kentucky · Carpenters

Best colleges for Carpenters in Kentucky

Ranked by graduates a year

Jefferson Community and Technical College, Hazard Community and Technical College and Bluegrass Community and Technical College award the most Carpenters degrees and certificates in Kentucky: 126, 77 and 66 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 10 Kentucky colleges offer Carpenters and award 600 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Carpenters program focuses on the skilled trade of carpentry, which involves the cutting, shaping, and installation of building materials in various construction projects. This program is designed for individuals interested in pursuing…

Institutions
10
offering CIP 46.02
States offered
40
with a program page
Degrees / yr
600
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
46%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Carpenters
$54,820
BLS OEWS May 2025

10 institutions offering Carpenters in Kentucky

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Jefferson Community and Technical College
Louisville Public
—12635%——
2Hazard Community and Technical College
Hazard Public
—7748%——
3Bluegrass Community and Technical College
Lexington Public
—6643%——
4Maysville Community and Technical College
Maysville Public
—6656%——
5Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College
Cumberland Public
—6247%——
6Owensboro Community and Technical College
Owensboro Public
—5954%——
7Somerset Community College
Somerset Public
—5043%——
8West Kentucky Community and Technical College
Paducah Public
—4950%——
9Hopkinsville Community College
Hopkinsville Public
—2945%——
10Big Sandy Community and Technical College
Prestonsburg Public
—1638%——

Colleges awarding the most Carpenters degrees in Kentucky

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Jefferson Community and Technical College
Louisville Public
126Not reported
2Hazard Community and Technical College
Hazard Public
77Not reported
3Bluegrass Community and Technical College
Lexington Public
66Not reported
4Maysville Community and Technical College
Maysville Public
66Not reported
5Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College
Cumberland Public
62Not reported
6Owensboro Community and Technical College
Owensboro Public
59Not reported
7Somerset Community College
Somerset Public
50Not reported
8West Kentucky Community and Technical College
Paducah Public
49Not reported
9Hopkinsville Community College
Hopkinsville Public
29Not reported
10Big Sandy Community and Technical College
Prestonsburg Public
16Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Carpenters (SOC 47-2031).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.5%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~74,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$59,310
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Active ListeningCritical ThinkingMonitoringReading ComprehensionSpeakingMathematics

What Carpenters earn in Kentucky

Jobs in Kentucky
8,540
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$54,820
median $52,680
Best-paying metro
$57,480
Louisville/Jefferson County, KY-IN

Related careers

First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers
$74,220 avg · 9,620 jobs
Carpenters
$54,820 avg · 8,540 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Carpenters programs in Kentucky.

Which Kentucky colleges award the most Carpenters degrees?+

Jefferson Community and Technical College (126 graduates a year), Hazard Community and Technical College (77 graduates a year) and Bluegrass Community and Technical College (66 graduates a year) award the most Carpenters degrees and certificates in Kentucky, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 10 Kentucky colleges offer Carpenters.

How much do Carpenters earn in Kentucky?+

The average annual wage for Carpenters in Kentucky is $54,820 (median $52,680), across about 8,540 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Carpenters program?+

The Carpenters program focuses on the skilled trade of carpentry, which involves the cutting, shaping, and installation of building materials in various construction projects. This program is designed for individuals interested in pursuing…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, critical thinking, monitoring, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Carpenters?+

The national job outlook is about +4.5% growth with around 74,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card