Kansas · Teacher Education and Professional Development

Best colleges for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Kansas

Ranked by graduate earnings

Wichita State University, Kansas State University and Emporia State University are the top bachelor's Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Kansas by graduate earnings. Wichita State University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $47,121, College Scorecard. Fort Hays State University, Emporia State University and Pittsburg State University award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Kansas: 154, 120 and 88 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 22 Kansas colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development and award 701 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focused on subject areas, prepares individuals for careers in education by providing essential training and knowledge in various teaching disciplines. This program is…

Institutions
22
offering CIP 13.13
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
701
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$43,802
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
6
College Scorecard
Median net price
$24,595
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
47%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
$56,730
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 6 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Wichita State University
Wichita Public · Bachelor's degree
$47,1218851%—$22,145
2Kansas State University
Manhattan Public · Bachelor's degree
$45,1794871%—$22,814
3Emporia State University
Emporia Public · Bachelor's degree
$43,95412056%—$22,500
4Pittsburg State University
Pittsburg Public · Bachelor's degree
$43,8028857%—$24,125
5Fort Hays State University
Hays Public · Bachelor's degree
$43,27315448%—$23,082
6University of Kansas
Lawrence Public · Bachelor's degree
$40,4958669%—$24,174

Colleges awarding the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Kansas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Fort Hays State University
Hays Public
154$43,273
2Emporia State University
Emporia Public
120$43,954
3Pittsburg State University
Pittsburg Public
88$43,802
4Wichita State University
Wichita Public
88$47,121
5University of Kansas
Lawrence Public
86$40,495
6Kansas State University
Manhattan Public
48$45,179
7Bethany College
Lindsborg Private not-for-profit
15Not reported
8Washburn University
Topeka Public
13Not reported
9MidAmerica Nazarene University
Olathe Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
10Sterling College
Sterling Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
Show the other 12 Kansas colleges offering Teacher Education and Professional Development
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Ottawa University - OttawaOttawaPrivate not-for-profit12
Baker UniversityBaldwin CityPrivate not-for-profit8
Friends UniversityWichitaPrivate not-for-profit8
Ottawa University - Online (Online)Overland ParkPrivate not-for-profit8
Benedictine CollegeAtchisonPrivate not-for-profit5
Ottawa University - Kansas CityOverland ParkPrivate not-for-profit5
Southwestern CollegeWinfieldPrivate not-for-profit5
Butler Community CollegeEl DoradoPublic4
Central Christian College of KansasMcPhersonPrivate not-for-profit4
McPherson CollegeMcPhersonPrivate not-for-profit4
Kansas Wesleyan UniversitySalinaPrivate not-for-profit3
University of Saint MaryLeavenworthPrivate not-for-profit3

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education (SOC 25-2021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-2.0%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~91,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$62,340
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Learning StrategiesSpeakingCritical ThinkingActive ListeningMonitoringReading Comprehension

What Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Kansas

Jobs in Kansas
14,350
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$56,730
median $56,450
Best-paying metro
$58,070
Wichita, KS

Related careers

Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
$56,730 avg · 14,350 jobs
Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
$59,840 avg · 6,230 jobs
Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors
$40,730 avg · 4,510 jobs
Coaches and Scouts
$49,860 avg · 3,300 jobs
Librarians and Media Collections Specialists
$61,760 avg · 1,620 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Kansas.

Which Kansas colleges award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees?+

Fort Hays State University (154 graduates a year), Emporia State University (120 graduates a year) and Pittsburg State University (88 graduates a year) award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Kansas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 22 Kansas colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development.

What is the best college for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Kansas?+

By graduate earnings, Wichita State University leads among bachelor's Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Kansas, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $47,121, College Scorecard. Kansas State University and Emporia State University follow. By degrees awarded, Fort Hays State University is the largest, with 154 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Teacher Education and Professional Development program in Kansas has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Wichita State University tops the list at $47,121. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Kansas?+

The average annual wage for Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education in Kansas is $56,730 (median $56,450), across about 14,350 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Teacher Education and Professional Development program?+

The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focused on subject areas, prepares individuals for careers in education by providing essential training and knowledge in various teaching disciplines. This program is…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop learning strategies, speaking, critical thinking, active listening, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education?+

The national job outlook is about -2.0% growth with around 91,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Teacher Education and Professional Development in other statesNew JerseyTexasNevadaWyomingWashingtonDelawareFloridaUtah

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card