Best colleges for Political Science and Government in Kansas
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of Kansas, Kansas State University and Fort Hays State University are the top bachelor's Political Science and Government programs in Kansas by graduate earnings. University of Kansas leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $33,700, College Scorecard. University of Kansas, Kansas State University and Fort Hays State University award the most Political Science and Government degrees in Kansas: 113, 25 and 20 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 9 Kansas colleges offer Political Science and Government and award 206 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Political Science and Government program offers students an in-depth understanding of political systems, behavior, and institutions. This program is designed for individuals interested in exploring the complexities of governance,…
Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Kansas Lawrence Public · Bachelor's degree | $33,700 | 113 | 69% | — | $22,249 |
| 2 | Kansas State University Manhattan Public · Bachelor's degree | $32,289 | 25 | 71% | — | $25,000 |
| 3 | Fort Hays State University Hays Public · Bachelor's degree | $30,454 | 20 | 48% | — | $30,468 |
| 4 | Wichita State University Wichita Public · Bachelor's degree | $30,121 | 20 | 51% | — | $21,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Political Science and Government degrees in Kansas
Top 9 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Kansas Lawrence Public | 113 | $33,700 |
| 2 | Kansas State University Manhattan Public | 25 | $32,289 |
| 3 | Fort Hays State University Hays Public | 20 | $30,454 |
| 4 | Wichita State University Wichita Public | 20 | $30,121 |
| 5 | Benedictine College Atchison Private not-for-profit | 13 | Not reported |
| 6 | Washburn University Topeka Public | 10 | Not reported |
| 7 | Emporia State University Emporia Public | 2 | Not reported |
| 8 | University of Saint Mary Leavenworth Private not-for-profit | 2 | Not reported |
| 9 | McPherson College McPherson Private not-for-profit | 1 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Political Scientists (SOC 19-3094).
Top skills
What Political Scientists earn in Kansas
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Political Science and Government programs in Kansas.
Which Kansas colleges award the most Political Science and Government degrees?+
University of Kansas (113 graduates a year), Kansas State University (25 graduates a year) and Fort Hays State University (20 graduates a year) award the most Political Science and Government degrees in Kansas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 9 Kansas colleges offer Political Science and Government.
What is the best college for Political Science and Government in Kansas?+
By graduate earnings, University of Kansas leads among bachelor's Political Science and Government programs in Kansas, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $33,700, College Scorecard. Kansas State University and Fort Hays State University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Kansas is the largest, with 113 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Political Science and Government program in Kansas has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Kansas tops the list at $33,700. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
What is the focus of the Political Science and Government program?+
The Political Science and Government program offers students an in-depth understanding of political systems, behavior, and institutions. This program is designed for individuals interested in exploring the complexities of governance,…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, active learning, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Political Scientists?+
The national job outlook is about -3.1% growth with around 500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card