Best colleges for Food Science and Technology in Kansas
Ranked by graduate earnings
Kansas State University, Cowley County Community College and Highland Community College award the most Food Science and Technology degrees and certificates in Kansas: 83, 8 and 1 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 3 Kansas colleges offer Food Science and Technology and award 92 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Food Science and Technology program focuses on the study of food and its chemical properties, blending elements of agricultural science and nutritional science. This program is ideal for students interested in the scientific aspects of…
Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kansas State University Manhattan Public · Bachelor's degree | $62,479 | 83 | 71% | — | $24,844 |
Colleges awarding the most Food Science and Technology degrees in Kansas
Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kansas State University Manhattan Public | 83 | $62,479 |
| 2 | Cowley County Community College Arkansas City Public | 8 | Not reported |
| 3 | Highland Community College Highland Public | 1 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Food Scientists and Technologists (SOC 19-1012).
Top skills
What Food Scientists and Technologists earn in Kansas
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Food Science and Technology programs in Kansas.
Which Kansas colleges award the most Food Science and Technology degrees?+
Kansas State University (83 graduates a year), Cowley County Community College (8 graduates a year) and Highland Community College (1 graduate a year) award the most Food Science and Technology degrees and certificates in Kansas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 3 Kansas colleges offer Food Science and Technology.
Which Food Science and Technology program in Kansas has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Kansas State University tops the list at $62,479. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Food Scientists and Technologists earn in Kansas?+
The average annual wage for Food Scientists and Technologists in Kansas is $93,910 (median $85,130), across about 380 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Food Science and Technology program?+
The Food Science and Technology program focuses on the study of food and its chemical properties, blending elements of agricultural science and nutritional science. This program is ideal for students interested in the scientific aspects of…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active learning, reading comprehension, critical thinking, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Food Scientists and Technologists?+
The national job outlook is about +6.5% growth with around 1,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card