Iowa · Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians

Best colleges for Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians in Iowa

Ranked by graduate earnings

Des Moines Area Community College, Northwest Iowa Community College and Indian Hills Community College are the top Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians programs in Iowa by graduate earnings. Des Moines Area Community College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $52,325, College Scorecard. Kirkwood Community College, Des Moines Area Community College and Iowa Western Community College award the most Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Iowa: 371, 186 and 123 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 15 Iowa colleges offer Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians and award 1,183 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians program prepares students for a career in the automotive industry, focusing on the skills needed to diagnose and repair various vehicle systems. This program is ideal for…

Institutions
15
offering CIP 47.06
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,183
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$47,762
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
11
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
47%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians
$50,570
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Des Moines Area Community College
Ankeny Public · Associate degree
$52,32518639%—$9,624
2Northwest Iowa Community College
Sheldon Public · Associate degree
$52,1742558%—$11,326
3Indian Hills Community College
Ottumwa Public · Associate degree
$50,9015840%—$11,500
4Iowa Central Community College
Fort Dodge Public · Associate degree
$49,5565142%—$12,000
5North Iowa Area Community College
Mason City Public · Associate degree
$47,8827961%—$6,238
6Hawkeye Community College
Waterloo Public · Associate degree
$47,7623943%—$12,000
7Iowa Western Community College
Council Bluffs Public · Associate degree
$46,85212340%—$7,110
8Kirkwood Community College
Cedar Rapids Public · Associate degree
$44,89637143%—$10,000
9Western Iowa Tech Community College
Sioux City Public · Certificate
$35,5509150%—$5,500
10Iowa Lakes Community College
Estherville Public · Certificate
$34,5862750%——

Colleges awarding the most Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians degrees in Iowa

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Kirkwood Community College
Cedar Rapids Public
371$44,896
2Des Moines Area Community College
Ankeny Public
186$52,325
3Iowa Western Community College
Council Bluffs Public
123$46,852
4Western Iowa Tech Community College
Sioux City Public
91$35,550
5North Iowa Area Community College
Mason City Public
79$47,882
6Indian Hills Community College
Ottumwa Public
58$50,901
7Iowa Central Community College
Fort Dodge Public
51$49,556
8Southwestern Community College
Creston Public
46Not reported
9Eastern Iowa Community College District
Davenport Public
44Not reported
10Hawkeye Community College
Waterloo Public
39$47,762
Show the other 5 Iowa colleges offering Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Iowa Lakes Community CollegeEsthervillePublic27
Northwest Iowa Community CollegeSheldonPublic25
Northeast Iowa Community CollegeCalmarPublic17
Marshalltown Community CollegeMarshalltownPublic13
Southeastern Community CollegeWest BurlingtonPublic13

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians (SOC 49-3092).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+11.5%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~2,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$50,540
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingActive LearningMonitoring

What Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians earn in Iowa

Jobs in Iowa
420
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$50,570
median $48,030
Best-paying metro
$54,840
Davenport-Moline-Rock Island, IA-IL

Related careers

Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics
$55,310 avg · 7,610 jobs
First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers
$80,370 avg · 6,450 jobs
Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists
$60,900 avg · 4,140 jobs
Coating, Painting, and Spraying Machine Setters, Operators, and Tenders
$51,360 avg · 3,220 jobs
Automotive Body and Related Repairers
$57,470 avg · 1,830 jobs
Outdoor Power Equipment and Other Small Engine Mechanics
$47,700 avg · 430 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians programs in Iowa.

Which Iowa colleges award the most Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians degrees?+

Kirkwood Community College (371 graduates a year), Des Moines Area Community College (186 graduates a year) and Iowa Western Community College (123 graduates a year) award the most Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Iowa, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 15 Iowa colleges offer Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.

What is the best college for Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians in Iowa?+

By graduate earnings, Des Moines Area Community College leads among Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians programs in Iowa, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $52,325, College Scorecard. Northwest Iowa Community College and Indian Hills Community College follow. By degrees awarded, Kirkwood Community College is the largest, with 371 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians program in Iowa has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Des Moines Area Community College tops the list at $52,325. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians earn in Iowa?+

The average annual wage for Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians in Iowa is $50,570 (median $48,030), across about 420 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians program?+

The Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians program prepares students for a career in the automotive industry, focusing on the skills needed to diagnose and repair various vehicle systems. This program is ideal for…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians?+

The national job outlook is about +11.5% growth with around 2,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians in other statesNorth DakotaHawaiiNebraskaNew MexicoUtahVermontIllinoisIndiana

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card