Iowa · Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians

Best colleges for Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians in Iowa

Ranked by graduates a year

Des Moines Area Community College, Kirkwood Community College and Northeast Iowa Community College award the most Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Iowa: 222, 131 and 17 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 10 Iowa colleges offer Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians and award 419 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians program focuses on training students to service and repair heavy machinery and industrial equipment. This program is ideal for individuals interested in mechanics and…

Institutions
10
offering CIP 47.03
States offered
42
with a program page
Degrees / yr
419
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
47%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines
$66,530
BLS OEWS May 2025

10 institutions offering Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians in Iowa

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Des Moines Area Community College
Ankeny Public
—22239%——
2Kirkwood Community College
Cedar Rapids Public
—13143%——
3Northeast Iowa Community College
Calmar Public
—1751%——
4Southwestern Community College
Creston Public
—1459%——
5Southeastern Community College
West Burlington Public
—1143%——
6Iowa Lakes Community College
Estherville Public
—750%——
7Iowa Central Community College
Fort Dodge Public
—642%——
8Indian Hills Community College
Ottumwa Public
—540%——
9North Iowa Area Community College
Mason City Public
—561%——
10Marshalltown Community College
Marshalltown Public
—142%——

Colleges awarding the most Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians degrees in Iowa

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Des Moines Area Community College
Ankeny Public
222Not reported
2Kirkwood Community College
Cedar Rapids Public
131Not reported
3Northeast Iowa Community College
Calmar Public
17Not reported
4Southwestern Community College
Creston Public
14Not reported
5Southeastern Community College
West Burlington Public
11Not reported
6Iowa Lakes Community College
Estherville Public
7Not reported
7Iowa Central Community College
Fort Dodge Public
6Not reported
8Indian Hills Community College
Ottumwa Public
5Not reported
9North Iowa Area Community College
Mason City Public
5Not reported
10Marshalltown Community College
Marshalltown Public
1Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines (SOC 49-3042).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+5.8%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~16,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$63,980
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionWritingSpeakingMonitoringActive Listening

What Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines earn in Iowa

Jobs in Iowa
2,820
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$66,530
median $64,290
Best-paying metro
$70,670
Sioux City, IA-NE-SD

Related careers

Industrial Machinery Mechanics
$66,440 avg · 6,050 jobs
Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines
$66,530 avg · 2,820 jobs
Maintenance Workers, Machinery
$66,110 avg · 900 jobs
Wind Turbine Service Technicians
$73,070 avg · 900 jobs
Control and Valve Installers and Repairers, Except Mechanical Door
$80,600 avg · 820 jobs
Millwrights
$64,500 avg · 690 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians programs in Iowa.

Which Iowa colleges award the most Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians degrees?+

Des Moines Area Community College (222 graduates a year), Kirkwood Community College (131 graduates a year) and Northeast Iowa Community College (17 graduates a year) award the most Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Iowa, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 10 Iowa colleges offer Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians.

How much do Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines earn in Iowa?+

The average annual wage for Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines in Iowa is $66,530 (median $64,290), across about 2,820 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians program?+

The Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians program focuses on training students to service and repair heavy machinery and industrial equipment. This program is ideal for individuals interested in mechanics and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, writing, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines?+

The national job outlook is about +5.8% growth with around 16,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians in other statesMissouriOklahomaMinnesotaMississippiWyomingIllinoisKentuckyMichigan

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card