Iowa · Fine and Studio Arts

Best colleges for Fine and Studio Arts in Iowa

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Iowa, University of Northern Iowa and Cornell College award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Iowa: 124, 16 and 14 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 23 Iowa colleges offer Fine and Studio Arts and award 228 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Fine and Studio Arts program focuses on the practice and theory of visual arts and design, encompassing various disciplines such as illustration, painting, sculpture, and graphic design. This program is ideal for students who are…

Institutions
23
offering CIP 50.07
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
228
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$24,095
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,533
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
58%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Iowa
Iowa City Public · Bachelor's degree
$28,00812475%—$27,000
2University of Northern Iowa
Cedar Falls Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$24,0951668%—$26,500
3Grinnell College
Grinnell Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$20,111888%$14,470$16,750

Colleges awarding the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Iowa

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Iowa
Iowa City Public
124$28,008
2University of Northern Iowa
Cedar Falls Public
16$24,095
3Cornell College
Mount Vernon Private not-for-profit
14Not reported
4Grinnell College
Grinnell Private not-for-profit
8$20,111
5Saint Ambrose University
Davenport Private not-for-profit
7Not reported
6Central College
Pella Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
7Clarke University
Dubuque Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
8Drake University
Des Moines Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
9Graceland University - Lamoni
Lamoni Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
10Coe College
Cedar Rapids Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
Show the other 13 Iowa colleges offering Fine and Studio Arts
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Maharishi International University (Online)FairfieldPrivate not-for-profit8
Dordt UniversitySioux CenterPrivate not-for-profit3
Ellsworth Community CollegeIowa FallsPublic3
Grand View UniversityDes MoinesPrivate not-for-profit3
Iowa Western Community CollegeCouncil BluffsPublic3
Luther CollegeDecorahPrivate not-for-profit3
Morningside UniversitySioux CityPrivate not-for-profit3
Hawkeye Community CollegeWaterlooPublic1
Iowa Lakes Community CollegeEsthervillePublic1
Kirkwood Community CollegeCedar RapidsPublic1
Northwestern CollegeOrange CityPrivate not-for-profit1
Wartburg CollegeWaverlyPrivate not-for-profit1
William Penn UniversityOskaloosaPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators (SOC 27-1013).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-1.2%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~2,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$60,560
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive LearningActive ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionWriting

What Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators earn in Iowa

Jobs in Iowa
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary
$90,180 avg · 910 jobs
Photographers
$42,860 avg · 430 jobs
Art Directors
$91,220 avg · 280 jobs
Curators
$54,750 avg · 230 jobs
Jewelers and Precious Stone and Metal Workers
$53,830 avg · 160 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Fine and Studio Arts programs in Iowa.

Which Iowa colleges award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees?+

University of Iowa (124 graduates a year), University of Northern Iowa (16 graduates a year) and Cornell College (14 graduates a year) award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Iowa, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 23 Iowa colleges offer Fine and Studio Arts.

Which Fine and Studio Arts program in Iowa has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Iowa tops the list at $28,008. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

What is the focus of the Fine and Studio Arts program?+

The Fine and Studio Arts program focuses on the practice and theory of visual arts and design, encompassing various disciplines such as illustration, painting, sculpture, and graphic design. This program is ideal for students who are…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active learning, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators?+

The national job outlook is about -1.2% growth with around 2,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card