Iowa · Design and Applied Arts

Best colleges for Design and Applied Arts in Iowa

Ranked by graduate earnings

Iowa State University, University of Northern Iowa and Hawkeye Community College award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Iowa: 203, 27 and 22 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 24 Iowa colleges offer Design and Applied Arts and award 531 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Design and Applied Arts program focuses on the intersection of design and practical application, teaching students how to create aesthetically pleasing objects for everyday use. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…

Institutions
24
offering CIP 50.04
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
531
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$31,122
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
6
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,419
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
55%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Graphic Designers
$54,820
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Northern Iowa
Cedar Falls Public · Bachelor's degree
$38,6372768%—$25,100
2Iowa State University
Ames Public · Bachelor's degree
$37,56520375%—$27,000
3Upper Iowa University
Fayette Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$31,1221234%$22,697$39,780
4Grand View University
Des Moines Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$26,996754%$20,840$24,574

Top 2 certificate and associate programs

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Kirkwood Community College
Cedar Rapids Public · Associate degree
$32,1165643%—$10,519
2Des Moines Area Community College
Ankeny Public · Associate degree
$25,26511039%—$13,625

Colleges awarding the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Iowa

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Iowa State University
Ames Public
203$37,565
2University of Northern Iowa
Cedar Falls Public
27$38,637
3Hawkeye Community College
Waterloo Public
22Not reported
4Luther College
Decorah Private not-for-profit
15Not reported
5Upper Iowa University
Fayette Private not-for-profit
12$31,122
6Drake University
Des Moines Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
7Western Iowa Tech Community College
Sioux City Public
10Not reported
8Northeast Iowa Community College
Calmar Public
8Not reported
9Simpson College
Indianola Private not-for-profit
8Not reported
10Grand View University
Des Moines Private not-for-profit
7$26,996
Show the other 14 Iowa colleges offering Design and Applied Arts
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Des Moines Area Community CollegeAnkenyPublic110
Kirkwood Community CollegeCedar RapidsPublic56
Iowa Lakes Community CollegeEsthervillePublic7
Dordt UniversitySioux CenterPrivate not-for-profit5
Saint Ambrose UniversityDavenportPrivate not-for-profit5
Wartburg CollegeWaverlyPrivate not-for-profit5
Iowa Central Community CollegeFort DodgePublic4
Buena Vista UniversityStorm LakePrivate not-for-profit3
Clarke UniversityDubuquePrivate not-for-profit3
Mount Mercy UniversityCedar RapidsPrivate not-for-profit3
Northwestern CollegeOrange CityPrivate not-for-profit3
Briar Cliff UniversitySioux CityPrivate not-for-profit2
Ellsworth Community CollegeIowa FallsPublic2
Morningside UniversitySioux CityPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Graphic Designers (SOC 27-1024).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~20,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$61,300
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingCritical ThinkingWritingActive LearningReading Comprehension

What Graphic Designers earn in Iowa

Jobs in Iowa
2,100
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$54,820
median $50,310
Best-paying metro
$58,100
Cedar Rapids, IA

Related careers

Graphic Designers
$54,820 avg · 2,100 jobs
Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary
$90,180 avg · 910 jobs
Web and Digital Interface Designers
$72,090 avg · 670 jobs
Interior Designers
$68,360 avg · 510 jobs
Commercial and Industrial Designers
$73,050 avg · 440 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Design and Applied Arts programs in Iowa.

Which Iowa colleges award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees?+

Iowa State University (203 graduates a year), University of Northern Iowa (27 graduates a year) and Hawkeye Community College (22 graduates a year) award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Iowa, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 24 Iowa colleges offer Design and Applied Arts.

Which Design and Applied Arts program in Iowa has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Northern Iowa tops the list at $38,637. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Graphic Designers earn in Iowa?+

The average annual wage for Graphic Designers in Iowa is $54,820 (median $50,310), across about 2,100 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Design and Applied Arts program?+

The Design and Applied Arts program focuses on the intersection of design and practical application, teaching students how to create aesthetically pleasing objects for everyday use. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, critical thinking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Graphic Designers?+

The national job outlook is about +2.1% growth with around 20,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card