Indiana · Criminology

Best colleges for Criminology in Indiana

Ranked by graduate earnings

Indiana State University, Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College and Butler University award the most Criminology degrees and certificates in Indiana: 80, 14 and 13 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 6 Indiana colleges offer Criminology and award 127 degrees and certificates a year in all.

Criminology is the interdisciplinary study of crime and deviant behavior, situated within the field of social sciences. This program draws from various disciplines, including sociology, psychology, and law, making it ideal for students…

Institutions
6
offering CIP 45.04
States offered
47
with a program page
Degrees / yr
127
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$30,653
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,155
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
58%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Sociologists
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Indiana State University
Terre Haute Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,7698043%—$24,970
2Valparaiso University
Valparaiso Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$30,6531070%$20,155$27,000

Colleges awarding the most Criminology degrees in Indiana

Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Indiana State University
Terre Haute Public
80$39,769
2Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College
Saint Mary of the Woods Private not-for-profit
14Not reported
3Butler University
Indianapolis Private not-for-profit
13Not reported
4Valparaiso University
Valparaiso Private not-for-profit
10$30,653
5Manchester University
North Manchester Private not-for-profit
7Not reported
6Huntington University
Huntington Private not-for-profit
3Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Sociologists (SOC 19-3041).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.6%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$101,690
typically Master's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningWritingActive LearningReading ComprehensionCritical Thinking

What Sociologists earn in Indiana

Jobs in Indiana
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Life, Physical, and Social Science Technicians, All Other
$58,270 avg · 750 jobs
Psychologists, All Other
$117,770 avg · 200 jobs
Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement Teachers, Postsecondary
$74,640 avg · 170 jobs
Sociologists
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Criminology programs in Indiana.

Which Indiana colleges award the most Criminology degrees?+

Indiana State University (80 graduates a year), Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College (14 graduates a year) and Butler University (13 graduates a year) award the most Criminology degrees and certificates in Indiana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 6 Indiana colleges offer Criminology.

Which Criminology program in Indiana has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Indiana State University tops the list at $39,769. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

What is the focus of the Criminology program?+

Criminology is the interdisciplinary study of crime and deviant behavior, situated within the field of social sciences. This program draws from various disciplines, including sociology, psychology, and law, making it ideal for students…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, writing, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Sociologists?+

The national job outlook is about +3.6% growth with around 300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card