Best colleges for Business/Commerce in Indiana
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of Notre Dame, Indiana University - Bloomington and Indiana University - Indianapolis are the top bachelor's Business/Commerce programs in Indiana by graduate earnings. University of Notre Dame leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $73,170, College Scorecard. Indiana University - Bloomington, Indiana University - Indianapolis and Ball State University award the most Business/Commerce degrees in Indiana: 3,769, 608 and 309 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 24 Indiana colleges offer Business/Commerce and award 6,069 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Business/Commerce program provides students with a comprehensive understanding of the principles and practices of business management, marketing, and related services. This program is ideal for those interested in pursuing a career in…
Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Notre Dame Notre Dame Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $73,170 | 42 | 95% | $19,452 | — |
| 2 | Indiana University - Bloomington Bloomington Public · Bachelor's degree | $71,100 | 3,769 | 80% | — | $19,500 |
| 3 | Indiana University - Indianapolis Indianapolis Public · Bachelor's degree | $52,467 | 608 | 54% | — | $22,003 |
| 4 | Indiana University - South Bend South Bend Public · Bachelor's degree | $48,238 | 119 | 40% | — | $20,500 |
| 5 | Indiana University - Southeast New Albany Public · Bachelor's degree | $47,862 | 156 | 39% | — | $22,062 |
| 6 | Purdue University Fort Wayne Fort Wayne Public · Bachelor's degree | $46,950 | 157 | 36% | — | $22,764 |
| 7 | Ball State University Muncie Public · Bachelor's degree | $46,550 | 309 | 62% | — | $25,000 |
| 8 | Indiana University - Kokomo Kokomo Public · Bachelor's degree | $43,858 | 105 | 46% | — | $24,744 |
| 9 | Indiana State University Terre Haute Public · Bachelor's degree | $43,458 | 32 | 43% | — | $24,562 |
| 10 | Indiana University - Northwest Gary Public · Bachelor's degree | $39,957 | 67 | 37% | — | $24,822 |
Top 3 certificate and associate programs
Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vincennes University Vincennes Public · Associate degree | $40,115 | 30 | 39% | — | $10,668 |
| 2 | Indiana Wesleyan University - National & Global Marion Private not-for-profit · Associate degree Online | $49,463 | 122 | 35% | $18,316 | $25,149 |
| 3 | Purdue University Global West Lafayette Public · Associate degree Online | $37,929 | 254 | 50% | — | $23,354 |
Colleges awarding the most Business/Commerce degrees in Indiana
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Indiana University - Bloomington Bloomington Public | 3,769 | $71,100 |
| 2 | Indiana University - Indianapolis Indianapolis Public | 608 | $52,467 |
| 3 | Ball State University Muncie Public | 309 | $46,550 |
| 4 | Purdue University Fort Wayne Fort Wayne Public | 157 | $46,950 |
| 5 | Indiana University - Southeast New Albany Public | 156 | $47,862 |
| 6 | Indiana Institute of Technology Fort Wayne Private not-for-profit | 150 | Not reported |
| 7 | Indiana University - South Bend South Bend Public | 119 | $48,238 |
| 8 | Indiana University - Kokomo Kokomo Public | 105 | $43,858 |
| 9 | Indiana University - Northwest Gary Public | 67 | $39,957 |
| 10 | Hanover College Hanover Private not-for-profit | 47 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 14 Indiana colleges offering Business/Commerce
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Purdue University Global (Online) | West Lafayette | Public | 254 |
| Indiana Wesleyan University - National & Global (Online) | Marion | Private not-for-profit | 122 |
| University of Notre Dame | Notre Dame | Private not-for-profit | 42 |
| Indiana State University | Terre Haute | Public | 32 |
| Vincennes University | Vincennes | Public | 30 |
| Holy Cross College | Notre Dame | Private not-for-profit | 27 |
| Trine University | Angola | Private not-for-profit | 21 |
| Goshen College | Goshen | Private not-for-profit | 18 |
| Bethel University | Mishawaka | Private not-for-profit | 10 |
| Manchester University | North Manchester | Private not-for-profit | 9 |
| University of Saint Francis-Fort Wayne | Fort Wayne | Private not-for-profit | 9 |
| Franklin College | Franklin | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
| Valparaiso University | Valparaiso | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College | Saint Mary of the Woods | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: General and Operations Managers (SOC 11-1021).
Top skills
What General and Operations Managers earn in Indiana
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Business/Commerce programs in Indiana.
Which Indiana colleges award the most Business/Commerce degrees?+
Indiana University - Bloomington (3,769 graduates a year), Indiana University - Indianapolis (608 graduates a year) and Ball State University (309 graduates a year) award the most Business/Commerce degrees in Indiana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 24 Indiana colleges offer Business/Commerce.
What is the best college for Business/Commerce in Indiana?+
By graduate earnings, University of Notre Dame leads among bachelor's Business/Commerce programs in Indiana, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $73,170, College Scorecard. Indiana University - Bloomington and Indiana University - Indianapolis follow. By degrees awarded, Indiana University - Bloomington is the largest, with 3,769 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Business/Commerce program in Indiana has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Notre Dame tops the list at $73,170. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do General and Operations Managers earn in Indiana?+
The average annual wage for General and Operations Managers in Indiana is $135,100 (median $108,170), across about 47,180 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Business/Commerce program?+
The Business/Commerce program provides students with a comprehensive understanding of the principles and practices of business management, marketing, and related services. This program is ideal for those interested in pursuing a career in…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, monitoring, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for General and Operations Managers?+
The national job outlook is about +4.4% growth with around 308,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card