Illinois · Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies

Best colleges for Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies in Illinois

Ranked by graduate earnings

National Louis University, Eastern Illinois University and Columbia College Chicago award the most Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies degrees in Illinois: 52, 43 and 7 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 10 Illinois colleges offer Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies and award 125 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies program offers students the opportunity to combine multiple academic disciplines into a cohesive field of study. This program is ideal for those who seek to explore various areas of knowledge, such as…

Institutions
10
offering CIP 30.99
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
125
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$38,765
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$25,200
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
60%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Eastern Illinois University
Charleston Public · Bachelor's degree
$50,8624347%—$22,033
2National Louis University
Chicago Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$38,7655230%$18,904$28,202
3Columbia College Chicago
Chicago Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$25,999752%$28,087$27,000

Colleges awarding the most Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies degrees in Illinois

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1National Louis University
Chicago Private not-for-profit
52$38,765
2Eastern Illinois University
Charleston Public
43$50,862
3Columbia College Chicago
Chicago Private not-for-profit
7$25,999
4Judson University
Elgin Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
5Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
Carbondale Public
6Not reported
6Millikin University
Decatur Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
7DePaul University
Chicago Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
8Loyola University Chicago
Chicago Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
9Illinois College
Jacksonville Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
10Wheaton College
Wheaton Private not-for-profit
1Not reported

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies programs in Illinois.

Which Illinois colleges award the most Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies degrees?+

National Louis University (52 graduates a year), Eastern Illinois University (43 graduates a year) and Columbia College Chicago (7 graduates a year) award the most Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies degrees in Illinois, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 10 Illinois colleges offer Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies.

Which Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies program in Illinois has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Eastern Illinois University tops the list at $50,862. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

What is the focus of the Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies program?+

The Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies program offers students the opportunity to combine multiple academic disciplines into a cohesive field of study. This program is ideal for those who seek to explore various areas of knowledge, such as…

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card