Illinois · Chemistry

Best colleges for Chemistry in Illinois

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville and Northern Illinois University are the top bachelor's Chemistry programs in Illinois by graduate earnings. University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $47,034, College Scorecard. University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, University of Chicago and University of Illinois Chicago award the most Chemistry degrees in Illinois: 163, 153 and 60 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 39 Illinois colleges offer Chemistry and award 756 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Chemistry program focuses on the scientific study of matter, including its composition, structure, properties, and behavior. This program is ideal for students interested in understanding the fundamental aspects of chemical reactions…

Institutions
39
offering CIP 40.05
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
756
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$43,061
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
4
College Scorecard
Median net price
$19,899
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
61%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Chemists
$98,420
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Champaign Public · Bachelor's degree
$47,03416385%—$21,500
2Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Edwardsville Public · Bachelor's degree
$46,6594557%—$25,000
3Northern Illinois University
Dekalb Public · Bachelor's degree
$43,0613349%—$23,023
4Western Illinois University
Macomb Public · Bachelor's degree
$31,9803445%—$27,000

Colleges awarding the most Chemistry degrees in Illinois

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Champaign Public
163$47,034
2University of Chicago
Chicago Private not-for-profit
153Not reported
3University of Illinois Chicago
Chicago Public
60Not reported
4Northwestern University
Evanston Private not-for-profit
60Not reported
5Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Edwardsville Public
45$46,659
6Western Illinois University
Macomb Public
34$31,980
7Northern Illinois University
Dekalb Public
33$43,061
8Illinois Institute of Technology
Chicago Private not-for-profit
27Not reported
9Loyola University Chicago
Chicago Private not-for-profit
25Not reported
10Illinois State University
Normal Public
21Not reported
Show the other 29 Illinois colleges offering Chemistry
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Southern Illinois University - CarbondaleCarbondalePublic14
Bradley UniversityPeoriaPrivate not-for-profit13
Northeastern Illinois UniversityChicagoPublic12
Lewis UniversityRomeovillePrivate not-for-profit9
Eastern Illinois UniversityCharlestonPublic8
Lake Forest CollegeLake ForestPrivate not-for-profit8
Wheaton CollegeWheatonPrivate not-for-profit6
Governors State UniversityUniversity ParkPublic5
North Central CollegeNapervillePrivate not-for-profit5
Saint Xavier UniversityChicagoPrivate not-for-profit5
University of Illinois SpringfieldSpringfieldPublic5
DePaul UniversityChicagoPrivate not-for-profit4
Elmhurst UniversityElmhurstPrivate not-for-profit4
Benedictine UniversityLislePrivate not-for-profit4
Knox CollegeGalesburgPrivate not-for-profit4
Millikin UniversityDecaturPrivate not-for-profit4
Monmouth CollegeMonmouthPrivate not-for-profit3
Olivet Nazarene UniversityBourbonnaisPrivate not-for-profit3
Augustana CollegeRock IslandPrivate not-for-profit2
Aurora UniversityAuroraPrivate not-for-profit2
Chicago State UniversityChicagoPublic2
Eureka CollegeEurekaPrivate not-for-profit2
Illinois Wesleyan UniversityBloomingtonPrivate not-for-profit2
Illinois CollegeJacksonvillePrivate not-for-profit2
McKendree UniversityLebanonPrivate not-for-profit2
Trinity Christian CollegePalos HeightsPrivate not-for-profit2
North Park UniversityChicagoPrivate not-for-profit1
Quincy UniversityQuincyPrivate not-for-profit1
Dominican UniversityRiver ForestPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Chemists (SOC 19-2031).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.9%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~6,300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$84,150
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

ScienceReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingSpeakingWritingMathematics

What Chemists earn in Illinois

Jobs in Illinois
3,040
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$98,420
median $85,230
Best-paying metro
$116,760
Peoria, IL

Related careers

Computer Occupations, All Other
$104,530 avg · 11,160 jobs
Data Scientists
$117,870 avg · 10,520 jobs
Chemists
$98,420 avg · 3,040 jobs
Environmental Scientists and Specialists, Including Health
$92,260 avg · 1,550 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Chemistry programs in Illinois.

Which Illinois colleges award the most Chemistry degrees?+

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (163 graduates a year), University of Chicago (153 graduates a year) and University of Illinois Chicago (60 graduates a year) award the most Chemistry degrees in Illinois, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 39 Illinois colleges offer Chemistry.

What is the best college for Chemistry in Illinois?+

By graduate earnings, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign leads among bachelor's Chemistry programs in Illinois, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $47,034, College Scorecard. Southern Illinois University Edwardsville and Northern Illinois University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign is the largest, with 163 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Chemistry program in Illinois has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign tops the list at $47,034. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Chemists earn in Illinois?+

The average annual wage for Chemists in Illinois is $98,420 (median $85,230), across about 3,040 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Chemistry program?+

The Chemistry program focuses on the scientific study of matter, including its composition, structure, properties, and behavior. This program is ideal for students interested in understanding the fundamental aspects of chemical reactions…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop science, reading comprehension, critical thinking, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Chemists?+

The national job outlook is about +4.9% growth with around 6,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card