Georgia · Liberal Arts and Sciences

Best colleges for Liberal Arts and Sciences in Georgia

Ranked by graduate earnings

Clayton State University, Georgia Southern University and Valdosta State University are the top bachelor's Liberal Arts and Sciences programs in Georgia by graduate earnings. Clayton State University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $37,898, College Scorecard. Chattahoochee Technical College, Central Georgia Technical College and Southern Crescent Technical College award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in Georgia: 3,546, 2,504 and 1,051 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 63 Georgia colleges offer Liberal Arts and Sciences and award 16,690 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Liberal Arts and Sciences program, formally known as Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, offers a broad educational foundation in various disciplines. This program is designed for students seeking a well-rounded…

Institutions
63
offering CIP 24.01
States & territories
59
with a program page
Degrees / yr
16,690
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$28,064
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
17
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,115
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
41%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Postsecondary Teachers, All Other
$73,740
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Clayton State University
Morrow Public · Bachelor's degree
$37,8988440%—$45,202
2Georgia Southern University
Statesboro Public · Bachelor's degree
$34,57618555%—$31,000
3Valdosta State University
Valdosta Public · Bachelor's degree
$25,44111942%—$31,000
4Fort Valley State University
Fort Valley Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$23,1571541%—$39,693

Top 10 certificate and associate programs

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Albany State University
Albany Public · Associate degree
$28,57636831%—$20,149
2Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
Tifton Public · Associate degree
$28,06415736%—$13,000
3University of North Georgia
Dahlonega Public · Associate degree
$24,81746437%—$12,000
4Georgia Military College
Milledgeville Public · Associate degree
$19,92926738%—$9,166
5Emory University - Oxford College
Oxford Private not-for-profit · Associate degree
$7,80853394%$24,692$11,260
6Georgia State University - Perimeter College
Atlanta Public · Associate degree
$29,0701,94822%—$16,750
7Georgia Highlands College
Rome Public · Associate degree
$28,40343021%—$11,166
8South Georgia State College
Douglas Public · Associate degree
$25,00225016%—$11,500
9East Georgia State College
Swainsboro Public · Associate degree
$24,9006917%—$11,500
10Atlanta Metropolitan State College
Atlanta Public · Associate degree
$23,86312217%—$13,750

Colleges awarding the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in Georgia

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Chattahoochee Technical College
Marietta Public
3,546Not reported
2Central Georgia Technical College
Warner Robins Public
2,504Not reported
3Southern Crescent Technical College
Griffin Public
1,051Not reported
4Gwinnett Technical College
Lawrenceville Public
842Not reported
5Athens Technical College
Athens Public
612Not reported
6Atlanta Technical College
Atlanta Public
543Not reported
7West Georgia Technical College
Waco Public
222Not reported
8Georgia Southern University
Statesboro Public
185$34,576
9Savannah Technical College
Savannah Public
175Not reported
10Coastal Pines Technical College
Waycross Public
172Not reported
Show the other 53 Georgia colleges offering Liberal Arts and Sciences
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Georgia State University - Perimeter CollegeAtlantaPublic1,948
Emory University - Oxford CollegeOxfordPrivate not-for-profit533
University of North GeorgiaDahlonegaPublic464
Georgia Highlands CollegeRomePublic430
Albany State UniversityAlbanyPublic368
College of Coastal GeorgiaBrunswickPublic268
Georgia Military CollegeMilledgevillePublic267
South Georgia State CollegeDouglasPublic250
Albany Technical CollegeAlbanyPublic159
Abraham Baldwin Agricultural CollegeTiftonPublic157
Wiregrass Georgia Technical CollegeValdostaPublic156
Oconee Fall Line Technical CollegeSandersvillePublic154
Dalton State CollegeDaltonPublic128
Southeastern Technical CollegeVidaliaPublic127
Atlanta Metropolitan State CollegeAtlantaPublic122
Valdosta State UniversityValdostaPublic119
North Georgia Technical CollegeClarkesvillePublic99
Ogeechee Technical CollegeStatesboroPublic94
Augusta Technical CollegeAugustaPublic93
Clayton State UniversityMorrowPublic84
Brewton-Parker Christian UniversityMount VernonPrivate not-for-profit80
Southern Regional Technical CollegeThomasvillePublic79
Middle Georgia State UniversityMaconPublic70
East Georgia State CollegeSwainsboroPublic69
Columbus Technical CollegeColumbusPublic66
Gordon State CollegeBarnesvillePublic63
Life UniversityMariettaPrivate not-for-profit55
Savannah State UniversitySavannahPublic53
Brenau UniversityGainesvillePrivate not-for-profit27
Georgia Gwinnett CollegeLawrencevillePublic22
Toccoa Falls CollegeToccoa FallsPrivate not-for-profit20
Georgia Southwestern State UniversityAmericusPublic19
LaGrange CollegeLagrangePrivate not-for-profit16
Herzing University - AtlantaAtlantaPrivate not-for-profit16
Columbus State UniversityColumbusPublic15
Fort Valley State UniversityFort ValleyPublic15
South Georgia Technical CollegeAmericusPublic14
Georgia College & State UniversityMilledgevillePublic13
Morris Brown CollegeAtlantaPrivate not-for-profit13
Mercer UniversityMaconPrivate not-for-profit12
Shorter UniversityRomePrivate not-for-profit11
Emmanuel UniversityFranklin SpringsPrivate not-for-profit9
University of GeorgiaAthensPublic9
Georgia Northwestern Technical CollegeRomePublic8
Reinhardt UniversityWaleskaPrivate not-for-profit8
Point UniversityWest PointPrivate not-for-profit7
Emory UniversityAtlantaPrivate not-for-profit7
Thomas UniversityThomasvillePrivate not-for-profit6
Andrew CollegeCuthbertPrivate not-for-profit5
Clark Atlanta UniversityAtlantaPrivate not-for-profit4
Georgia Piedmont Technical CollegeClarkstonPublic3
Oglethorpe UniversityAtlantaPrivate not-for-profit2
Piedmont UniversityDemorestPrivate not-for-profit2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Postsecondary Teachers, All Other (SOC 25-1199).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.8%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~13,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$78,490
typically Doctoral or professional degree

What Postsecondary Teachers, All Other earn in Georgia

Jobs in Georgia
5,480
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$73,740
median $64,650
Best-paying metro
$86,220
Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC

Related careers

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Liberal Arts and Sciences programs in Georgia.

Which Georgia colleges award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees?+

Chattahoochee Technical College (3,546 graduates a year), Central Georgia Technical College (2,504 graduates a year) and Southern Crescent Technical College (1,051 graduates a year) award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in Georgia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 63 Georgia colleges offer Liberal Arts and Sciences.

What is the best college for Liberal Arts and Sciences in Georgia?+

By graduate earnings, Clayton State University leads among bachelor's Liberal Arts and Sciences programs in Georgia, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $37,898, College Scorecard. Georgia Southern University and Valdosta State University follow. By degrees awarded, Chattahoochee Technical College is the largest, with 3,546 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Liberal Arts and Sciences program in Georgia has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Clayton State University tops the list at $37,898. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Postsecondary Teachers, All Other earn in Georgia?+

The average annual wage for Postsecondary Teachers, All Other in Georgia is $73,740 (median $64,650), across about 5,480 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Liberal Arts and Sciences program?+

The Liberal Arts and Sciences program, formally known as Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, offers a broad educational foundation in various disciplines. This program is designed for students seeking a well-rounded…

What is the job outlook for Postsecondary Teachers, All Other?+

The national job outlook is about +1.8% growth with around 13,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card