Florida · Computer Science

Best colleges for Computer Science in Florida

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Miami, Florida Institute of Technology and Saint Leo University are the top bachelor's Computer Science programs in Florida by graduate earnings. University of Miami leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $76,877, College Scorecard. Full Sail University, University of South Florida and Saint Leo University award the most Computer Science degrees in Florida: 437, 223 and 152 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 22 Florida colleges offer Computer Science and award 1,464 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer Science program focuses on the study of computation, information, and automation. This field encompasses both theoretical and applied disciplines, making it suitable for individuals interested in technology and…

Institutions
22
offering CIP 11.07
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,464
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$72,237
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
5
College Scorecard
Median net price
$26,589
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
56%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer and Information Research Scientists
$128,620
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 5 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Miami
Coral Gables Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$76,8778284%$26,589$18,830
2Florida Institute of Technology
Melbourne Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$75,2318864%$33,585$27,000
3Saint Leo University
Saint Leo Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$72,23715245%$18,986$25,972
4Full Sail University
Winter Park Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$50,35943744%$32,163$19,875
5Rasmussen University - Florida
Ocala Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$53,832442%$20,261$38,409

Colleges awarding the most Computer Science degrees in Florida

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Full Sail University
Winter Park Private for-profit
437$50,359
2University of South Florida
Tampa Public
223Not reported
3Saint Leo University
Saint Leo Private not-for-profit
152$72,237
4Florida Polytechnic University
Lakeland Public
141Not reported
5University of North Florida
Jacksonville Public
93Not reported
6Florida Institute of Technology
Melbourne Private not-for-profit
88$75,231
7University of Miami
Coral Gables Private not-for-profit
82$76,877
8University of West Florida
Pensacola Public
57Not reported
9Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Private not-for-profit
46Not reported
10Nova Southeastern University
Fort Lauderdale Private not-for-profit
42Not reported
Show the other 12 Florida colleges offering Computer Science
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Florida Southern CollegeLakelandPrivate not-for-profit31
The University of TampaTampaPrivate not-for-profit15
St. Thomas UniversityMiami GardensPrivate not-for-profit12
Eckerd CollegeSaint PetersburgPrivate not-for-profit9
Stetson UniversityDeLandPrivate not-for-profit8
Barry UniversityMiamiPrivate not-for-profit6
Palm Beach Atlantic UniversityWest Palm BeachPrivate not-for-profit6
Florida Memorial UniversityMiami GardensPrivate not-for-profit5
Rasmussen University - FloridaOcalaPrivate for-profit4
Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-OrlandoOrlandoPrivate not-for-profit3
Bethune-Cookman UniversityDaytona BeachPrivate not-for-profit2
Ave Maria UniversityAve MariaPrivate not-for-profit2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer and Information Research Scientists (SOC 15-1221).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+19.7%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~3,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$140,910
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingActive LearningMathematics

What Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Florida

Jobs in Florida
1,070
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$128,620
median $119,810
Best-paying metro
$164,630
Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville, FL

Related careers

Software Developers
$137,010 avg · 87,890 jobs
Computer and Information Systems Managers
$175,140 avg · 35,040 jobs
Information Security Analysts
$124,510 avg · 14,220 jobs
Computer Occupations, All Other
$110,410 avg · 13,710 jobs
Software Quality Assurance Analysts and Testers
$102,560 avg · 10,320 jobs
Data Scientists
$119,150 avg · 10,240 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer Science programs in Florida.

Which Florida colleges award the most Computer Science degrees?+

Full Sail University (437 graduates a year), University of South Florida (223 graduates a year) and Saint Leo University (152 graduates a year) award the most Computer Science degrees in Florida, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 22 Florida colleges offer Computer Science.

What is the best college for Computer Science in Florida?+

By graduate earnings, University of Miami leads among bachelor's Computer Science programs in Florida, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $76,877, College Scorecard. Florida Institute of Technology and Saint Leo University follow. By degrees awarded, Full Sail University is the largest, with 437 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Computer Science program in Florida has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Miami tops the list at $76,877. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Florida?+

The average annual wage for Computer and Information Research Scientists in Florida is $128,620 (median $119,810), across about 1,070 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Computer Science program?+

The Computer Science program focuses on the study of computation, information, and automation. This field encompasses both theoretical and applied disciplines, making it suitable for individuals interested in technology and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer and Information Research Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about +19.7% growth with around 3,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card