Best colleges for Human Development in Connecticut
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of Connecticut, Connecticut College and Central Connecticut State University award the most Human Development degrees and certificates in Connecticut: 128, 6 and 4 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 7 Connecticut colleges offer Human Development and award 676 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Human Development program, officially titled Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services, focuses on understanding the various aspects of human growth and family dynamics. This interdisciplinary field falls under Family and…
Top 3 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Connecticut Storrs Public · Bachelor's degree | $31,642 | 128 | 83% | — | $23,059 |
| 2 | Connecticut College New London Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $41,609 | 6 | 82% | $27,183 | — |
| 3 | Post University Waterbury Private for-profit · Associate degree Online | $28,745 | 456 | 25% | $14,659 | $50,610 |
Colleges awarding the most Human Development degrees in Connecticut
Top 4 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Connecticut Storrs Public | 128 | $31,642 |
| 2 | Connecticut College New London Private not-for-profit | 6 | $41,609 |
| 3 | Central Connecticut State University New Britain Public | 4 | Not reported |
| 4 | University of Saint Joseph West Hartford Private not-for-profit | 3 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 3 Connecticut colleges offering Human Development
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Post University (Online) | Waterbury | Private for-profit | 456 |
| Charter Oak State College (Online) | New Britain | Public | 68 |
| Connecticut State Community College | New Britain | Public | 11 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Social and Human Service Assistants (SOC 21-1093).
Top skills
What Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Connecticut
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Human Development programs in Connecticut.
Which Connecticut colleges award the most Human Development degrees?+
University of Connecticut (128 graduates a year), Connecticut College (6 graduates a year) and Central Connecticut State University (4 graduates a year) award the most Human Development degrees and certificates in Connecticut, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 7 Connecticut colleges offer Human Development.
Which Human Development program in Connecticut has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Connecticut tops the list at $31,642. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Connecticut?+
The average annual wage for Social and Human Service Assistants in Connecticut is $46,540 (median $44,730), across about 9,930 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Human Development program?+
The Human Development program, officially titled Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services, focuses on understanding the various aspects of human growth and family dynamics. This interdisciplinary field falls under Family and…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, monitoring, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Social and Human Service Assistants?+
The national job outlook is about +6.4% growth with around 50,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card