Best colleges for Fine and Studio Arts in Connecticut
Ranked by graduate earnings
Southern Connecticut State University, University of Connecticut and Eastern Connecticut State University are the top bachelor's Fine and Studio Arts programs in Connecticut by graduate earnings. Southern Connecticut State University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $26,549, College Scorecard. Yale University, University of Connecticut and Wesleyan University award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Connecticut: 72, 40 and 39 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 15 Connecticut colleges offer Fine and Studio Arts and award 369 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Fine and Studio Arts program focuses on the practice and theory of visual arts and design, encompassing various disciplines such as illustration, painting, sculpture, and graphic design. This program is ideal for students who are…
Top 5 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Southern Connecticut State University New Haven Public · Bachelor's degree | $26,549 | 38 | 50% | — | $25,000 |
| 2 | University of Connecticut Storrs Public · Bachelor's degree | $24,419 | 40 | 83% | — | $23,750 |
| 3 | Eastern Connecticut State University Willimantic Public · Bachelor's degree | $23,534 | 37 | 58% | — | $22,250 |
| 4 | Connecticut College New London Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $36,564 | 19 | 82% | $27,183 | $23,250 |
| 5 | University of Hartford West Hartford Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $25,465 | 17 | 54% | $28,311 | $27,000 |
Top certificate or associate program
Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Connecticut State Community College New Britain Public · Associate degree | $22,100 | 38 | 24% | — | — |
Colleges awarding the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Connecticut
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Yale University New Haven Private not-for-profit | 72 | Not reported |
| 2 | University of Connecticut Storrs Public | 40 | $24,419 |
| 3 | Wesleyan University Middletown Private not-for-profit | 39 | Not reported |
| 4 | Southern Connecticut State University New Haven Public | 38 | $26,549 |
| 5 | Eastern Connecticut State University Willimantic Public | 37 | $23,534 |
| 6 | Western Connecticut State University Danbury Public | 22 | Not reported |
| 7 | Connecticut College New London Private not-for-profit | 19 | $36,564 |
| 8 | University of Hartford West Hartford Private not-for-profit | 17 | $25,465 |
| 9 | Sacred Heart University Fairfield Private not-for-profit | 15 | Not reported |
| 10 | Central Connecticut State University New Britain Public | 9 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 5 Connecticut colleges offering Fine and Studio Arts
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Connecticut State Community College | New Britain | Public | 38 |
| Trinity College | Hartford | Private not-for-profit | 8 |
| Albertus Magnus College | New Haven | Private not-for-profit | 7 |
| Fairfield University | Fairfield | Private not-for-profit | 6 |
| University of New Haven | West Haven | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators (SOC 27-1013).
Top skills
What Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators earn in Connecticut
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Fine and Studio Arts programs in Connecticut.
Which Connecticut colleges award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees?+
Yale University (72 graduates a year), University of Connecticut (40 graduates a year) and Wesleyan University (39 graduates a year) award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Connecticut, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 15 Connecticut colleges offer Fine and Studio Arts.
What is the best college for Fine and Studio Arts in Connecticut?+
By graduate earnings, Southern Connecticut State University leads among bachelor's Fine and Studio Arts programs in Connecticut, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $26,549, College Scorecard. University of Connecticut and Eastern Connecticut State University follow. By degrees awarded, Yale University is the largest, with 72 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Fine and Studio Arts program in Connecticut has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Southern Connecticut State University tops the list at $26,549. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators earn in Connecticut?+
The average annual wage for Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators in Connecticut is $73,830 (median $71,210), across about 100 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Fine and Studio Arts program?+
The Fine and Studio Arts program focuses on the practice and theory of visual arts and design, encompassing various disciplines such as illustration, painting, sculpture, and graphic design. This program is ideal for students who are…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, active learning, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators?+
The national job outlook is about -1.2% growth with around 2,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card