Connecticut · Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft

Best colleges for Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft in Connecticut

Ranked by graduate earnings

Yale University, Western Connecticut State University and University of Connecticut award the most Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft degrees and certificates in Connecticut: 99, 25 and 21 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 13 Connecticut colleges offer Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft and award 224 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft program focuses on the visual and performing arts, providing students with a comprehensive education in various aspects of theatre production and performance. This program is ideal for individuals…

Institutions
13
offering CIP 50.05
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
224
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$18,002
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$27,183
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
67%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Producers and Directors
$107,640
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Western Connecticut State University
Danbury Public · Bachelor's degree
$24,1502552%—$27,000
2University of Connecticut
Storrs Public · Bachelor's degree
$18,0022183%—$25,414

Colleges awarding the most Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft degrees in Connecticut

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Yale University
New Haven Private not-for-profit
99Not reported
2Western Connecticut State University
Danbury Public
25$24,150
3University of Connecticut
Storrs Public
21$18,002
4Wesleyan University
Middletown Private not-for-profit
14Not reported
5Central Connecticut State University
New Britain Public
11Not reported
6Eastern Connecticut State University
Willimantic Public
10Not reported
7University of Hartford
West Hartford Private not-for-profit
7Not reported
8Sacred Heart University
Fairfield Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
9Connecticut College
New London Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
10Southern Connecticut State University
New Haven Public
4Not reported
Show the other 3 Connecticut colleges offering Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Connecticut State Community CollegeNew BritainPublic19
Trinity CollegeHartfordPrivate not-for-profit2
Quinnipiac UniversityHamdenPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Producers and Directors (SOC 27-2012).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.9%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~12,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$83,480
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingCritical ThinkingMonitoringWriting

What Producers and Directors earn in Connecticut

Jobs in Connecticut
2,200
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$107,640
median $88,260
Best-paying metro
$117,180
Bridgeport-Stamford-Danbury, CT

Related careers

Producers and Directors
$107,640 avg · 2,200 jobs
Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary
$98,780 avg · 1,430 jobs
Musicians and Singers
— avg · 520 jobs
Writers and Authors
$110,420 avg · 480 jobs
Actors
— avg · 180 jobs
Music Directors and Composers
$105,300 avg · 120 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft programs in Connecticut.

Which Connecticut colleges award the most Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft degrees?+

Yale University (99 graduates a year), Western Connecticut State University (25 graduates a year) and University of Connecticut (21 graduates a year) award the most Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft degrees and certificates in Connecticut, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 13 Connecticut colleges offer Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft.

Which Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft program in Connecticut has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Western Connecticut State University tops the list at $24,150. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Producers and Directors earn in Connecticut?+

The average annual wage for Producers and Directors in Connecticut is $107,640 (median $88,260), across about 2,200 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft program?+

The Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft program focuses on the visual and performing arts, providing students with a comprehensive education in various aspects of theatre production and performance. This program is ideal for individuals…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Producers and Directors?+

The national job outlook is about +4.9% growth with around 12,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft in other statesSouth DakotaColoradoWyomingArkansasArizonaOregonTexasOklahoma

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card