Colorado · Teacher Education and Professional Development

Best colleges for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Colorado

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Northern Colorado, Regis University and University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees and certificates in Colorado: 61, 26 and 25 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 Colorado colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development and award 218 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focused on subject areas, prepares individuals for careers in education by providing essential training and knowledge in various teaching disciplines. This program is…

Institutions
12
offering CIP 13.13
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
218
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$40,113
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,447
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
54%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
$70,110
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Metropolitan State University of Denver
Denver Public · Bachelor's degree
$41,9542432%—$28,000
2University of Northern Colorado
Greeley Public · Bachelor's degree
$40,1136151%—$23,125

Colleges awarding the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Colorado

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Northern Colorado
Greeley Public
61$40,113
2Regis University
Denver Private not-for-profit
26Not reported
3University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus
Denver Public
25Not reported
4Metropolitan State University of Denver
Denver Public
24$41,954
5Adams State University
Alamosa Public
21Not reported
6Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design
Lakewood Private for-profit
13Not reported
7University of Colorado Boulder
Boulder Public
10Not reported
8Colorado Christian University
Lakewood Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
9Colorado State University - Fort Collins
Fort Collins Public
10Not reported
10Colorado School of Mines
Golden Public
9Not reported
Show the other 2 Colorado colleges offering Teacher Education and Professional Development
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Northeastern Junior CollegeSterlingPublic6
Colorado Mesa UniversityGrand JunctionPublic3

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education (SOC 25-2021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-2.0%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~91,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$62,340
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Learning StrategiesSpeakingCritical ThinkingActive ListeningMonitoringReading Comprehension

What Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Colorado

Jobs in Colorado
24,860
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$70,110
median $63,410
Best-paying metro
$87,870
Boulder, CO

Related careers

Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
$70,110 avg · 24,860 jobs
Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
$70,440 avg · 13,280 jobs
Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors
$56,400 avg · 10,500 jobs
Coaches and Scouts
$65,900 avg · 4,120 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Colorado.

Which Colorado colleges award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees?+

University of Northern Colorado (61 graduates a year), Regis University (26 graduates a year) and University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus (25 graduates a year) award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees and certificates in Colorado, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 Colorado colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development.

Which Teacher Education and Professional Development program in Colorado has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Metropolitan State University of Denver tops the list at $41,954. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Colorado?+

The average annual wage for Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education in Colorado is $70,110 (median $63,410), across about 24,860 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Teacher Education and Professional Development program?+

The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focused on subject areas, prepares individuals for careers in education by providing essential training and knowledge in various teaching disciplines. This program is…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop learning strategies, speaking, critical thinking, active listening, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education?+

The national job outlook is about -2.0% growth with around 91,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Teacher Education and Professional Development in other statesNew JerseyTexasNevadaWyomingWashingtonDelawareFloridaUtah

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card