Best colleges for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Colorado
Ranked by graduate earnings
Metropolitan State University of Denver, University of Northern Colorado and Colorado Christian University are the top bachelor's Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Colorado by graduate earnings. Metropolitan State University of Denver leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $40,681, College Scorecard. University of Northern Colorado, University of Colorado Colorado Springs and Red Rocks Community College award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Colorado: 128, 108 and 105 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 30 Colorado colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development and award 2,066 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focusing on various levels and methods, prepares individuals for careers in education. This program is designed for those who aspire to teach or work in educational…
Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Metropolitan State University of Denver Denver Public · Bachelor's degree | $40,681 | 69 | 32% | — | $27,551 |
| 2 | University of Northern Colorado Greeley Public · Bachelor's degree | $40,614 | 128 | 51% | — | $25,906 |
| 3 | Colorado Christian University Lakewood Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $40,448 | 30 | 64% | $23,447 | $27,000 |
| 4 | University of Colorado Colorado Springs Colorado Springs Public · Bachelor's degree | $40,198 | 108 | 47% | — | $25,040 |
Top 3 certificate and associate programs
Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Front Range Community College Westminster Public · Certificate | $29,749 | 343 | 35% | — | $16,150 |
| 2 | Pueblo Community College Pueblo Public · Certificate | $24,960 | 133 | 31% | — | $10,750 |
| 3 | Community College of Denver Denver Public · Certificate | $18,399 | 272 | 20% | — | $14,375 |
Colleges awarding the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Colorado
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Northern Colorado Greeley Public | 128 | $40,614 |
| 2 | University of Colorado Colorado Springs Colorado Springs Public | 108 | $40,198 |
| 3 | Red Rocks Community College Lakewood Public | 105 | Not reported |
| 4 | University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus Denver Public | 84 | Not reported |
| 5 | University of Colorado Boulder Boulder Public | 74 | Not reported |
| 6 | Community College of Aurora Aurora Public | 72 | Not reported |
| 7 | Adams State University Alamosa Public | 71 | Not reported |
| 8 | Metropolitan State University of Denver Denver Public | 69 | $40,681 |
| 9 | Aims Community College Greeley Public | 65 | Not reported |
| 10 | Montessori Education Center of the Rockies Denver Private not-for-profit | 39 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 20 Colorado colleges offering Teacher Education and Professional Development
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Front Range Community College | Westminster | Public | 343 |
| Community College of Denver | Denver | Public | 272 |
| Pueblo Community College | Pueblo | Public | 133 |
| Pikes Peak State College | Colorado Springs | Public | 100 |
| Colorado Mountain College | Glenwood Springs | Public | 87 |
| Arapahoe Community College | Littleton | Public | 76 |
| Colorado State University - Fort Collins | Fort Collins | Public | 31 |
| Trinidad State College | Trinidad | Public | 31 |
| Colorado Christian University | Lakewood | Private not-for-profit | 30 |
| Colorado College | Colorado Springs | Private not-for-profit | 25 |
| Northeastern Junior College | Sterling | Public | 25 |
| Regis University | Denver | Private not-for-profit | 24 |
| Colorado Mesa University | Grand Junction | Public | 18 |
| Morgan Community College | Fort Morgan | Public | 14 |
| Colorado Northwestern Community College | Rangely | Public | 12 |
| Fort Lewis College | Durango | Public | 12 |
| Western Colorado University | Gunnison | Public | 7 |
| Lamar Community College | Lamar | Public | 5 |
| Colorado State University Pueblo | Pueblo | Public | 5 |
| Naropa University | Boulder | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education (SOC 25-2011).
Top skills
What Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Colorado
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Colorado.
Which Colorado colleges award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees?+
University of Northern Colorado (128 graduates a year), University of Colorado Colorado Springs (108 graduates a year) and Red Rocks Community College (105 graduates a year) award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Colorado, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 30 Colorado colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development.
What is the best college for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Colorado?+
By graduate earnings, Metropolitan State University of Denver leads among bachelor's Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Colorado, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $40,681, College Scorecard. University of Northern Colorado and Colorado Christian University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Northern Colorado is the largest, with 128 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Teacher Education and Professional Development program in Colorado has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Metropolitan State University of Denver tops the list at $40,681. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Colorado?+
The average annual wage for Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education in Colorado is $53,270 (median $45,500), across about 5,210 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Teacher Education and Professional Development program?+
The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focusing on various levels and methods, prepares individuals for careers in education. This program is designed for those who aspire to teach or work in educational…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, learning strategies, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education?+
The national job outlook is about +4.1% growth with around 65,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card