Colorado · Political Science and Government

Best colleges for Political Science and Government in Colorado

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus, University of Colorado Boulder and Metropolitan State University of Denver are the top bachelor's Political Science and Government programs in Colorado by graduate earnings. University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $40,272, College Scorecard. University of Colorado Boulder, Colorado State University - Fort Collins and Colorado College award the most Political Science and Government degrees in Colorado: 243, 127 and 56 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 23 Colorado colleges offer Political Science and Government and award 684 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Political Science and Government program offers students an in-depth understanding of political systems, behavior, and institutions. This program is designed for individuals interested in exploring the complexities of governance,…

Institutions
23
offering CIP 45.10
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
684
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$37,458
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
8
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,510
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
48%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Political Scientists
$128,590
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 8 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus
Denver Public · Bachelor's degree
$40,2724346%—$21,066
2University of Colorado Boulder
Boulder Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,95424374%—$19,500
3Metropolitan State University of Denver
Denver Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,9202932%—$23,500
4University of Denver
Denver Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$38,0595176%$29,726$22,000
5University of Colorado Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Public · Bachelor's degree
$37,2952747%—$17,625
6Colorado State University - Fort Collins
Fort Collins Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,32412767%—$19,500
7University of Northern Colorado
Greeley Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$37,458851%—$20,250
8Western Colorado University
Gunnison Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$30,272950%—$24,000

Colleges awarding the most Political Science and Government degrees in Colorado

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Colorado Boulder
Boulder Public
243$39,954
2Colorado State University - Fort Collins
Fort Collins Public
127$36,324
3Colorado College
Colorado Springs Private not-for-profit
56Not reported
4University of Denver
Denver Private not-for-profit
51$38,059
5University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus
Denver Public
43$40,272
6Metropolitan State University of Denver
Denver Public
29$39,920
7University of Colorado Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Public
27$37,295
8United States Air Force Academy
USAF Academy Public
27Not reported
9Colorado Mesa University
Grand Junction Public
16Not reported
10Fort Lewis College
Durango Public
11Not reported
Show the other 13 Colorado colleges offering Political Science and Government
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Western Colorado UniversityGunnisonPublic9
University of Northern ColoradoGreeleyPublic8
Colorado Christian UniversityLakewoodPrivate not-for-profit6
Community College of AuroraAuroraPublic5
Community College of DenverDenverPublic5
Front Range Community CollegeWestminsterPublic5
Regis UniversityDenverPrivate not-for-profit5
Colorado State University PuebloPuebloPublic4
Adams State UniversityAlamosaPublic2
Pikes Peak State CollegeColorado SpringsPublic2
Arapahoe Community CollegeLittletonPublic1
Morgan Community CollegeFort MorganPublic1
Red Rocks Community CollegeLakewoodPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Political Scientists (SOC 19-3094).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-3.1%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$139,380
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingActive LearningCritical ThinkingWriting

What Political Scientists earn in Colorado

Jobs in Colorado
30
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$128,590
median $127,260
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Economics Teachers, Postsecondary
$110,430 avg · 270 jobs
Economists
$127,020 avg · 240 jobs
Social Science Research Assistants
$52,370 avg · 100 jobs
Political Scientists
$128,590 avg · 30 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Political Science and Government programs in Colorado.

Which Colorado colleges award the most Political Science and Government degrees?+

University of Colorado Boulder (243 graduates a year), Colorado State University - Fort Collins (127 graduates a year) and Colorado College (56 graduates a year) award the most Political Science and Government degrees in Colorado, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 23 Colorado colleges offer Political Science and Government.

What is the best college for Political Science and Government in Colorado?+

By graduate earnings, University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus leads among bachelor's Political Science and Government programs in Colorado, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $40,272, College Scorecard. University of Colorado Boulder and Metropolitan State University of Denver follow. By degrees awarded, University of Colorado Boulder is the largest, with 243 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Political Science and Government program in Colorado has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus tops the list at $40,272. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Political Scientists earn in Colorado?+

The average annual wage for Political Scientists in Colorado is $128,590 (median $127,260), across about 30 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Political Science and Government program?+

The Political Science and Government program offers students an in-depth understanding of political systems, behavior, and institutions. This program is designed for individuals interested in exploring the complexities of governance,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Political Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about -3.1% growth with around 500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card