California · Plant Sciences

Best colleges for Plant Sciences in California

Ranked by graduate earnings

California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo, California State University - Fresno and California State Polytechnic University - Pomona are the top bachelor's Plant Sciences programs in California by graduate earnings. California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $63,129, College Scorecard. California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo, California State University - Fresno and University of California-Davis award the most Plant Sciences degrees in California: 76, 72 and 59 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 15 California colleges offer Plant Sciences and award 352 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Plant Sciences program focuses on the study of plants, their growth, reproduction, and evolution, encompassing a wide range of topics within agricultural, animal, and veterinary sciences. This program is ideal for students interested…

Institutions
15
offering CIP 01.11
States offered
47
with a program page
Degrees / yr
352
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$44,038
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
6
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
57%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Soil and Plant Scientists
$99,260
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 6 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Public · Bachelor's degree
$63,1297686%—$16,666
2California State University - Fresno
Fresno Public · Bachelor's degree
$60,4437257%—$13,000
3California State Polytechnic University - Pomona
Pomona Public · Bachelor's degree
$46,1523668%—$13,500
4California State University - Chico
Chico Public · Bachelor's degree
$43,9443663%—$15,000
5University of California-Davis
Davis Public · Bachelor's degree
$43,8735986%——
6California State Polytechnic University - Humboldt
Arcata Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$44,038949%——

Colleges awarding the most Plant Sciences degrees in California

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Public
76$63,129
2California State University - Fresno
Fresno Public
72$60,443
3University of California-Davis
Davis Public
59$43,873
4California State University - Monterey Bay
Seaside Public
43Not reported
5California State Polytechnic University - Pomona
Pomona Public
36$46,152
6California State University - Chico
Chico Public
36$43,944
7University of California-Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Public
12Not reported
8California State Polytechnic University - Humboldt
Arcata Public
9$44,038
9Mt San Antonio College
Walnut Public
2Not reported
10Butte College
Oroville Public
1Not reported
Show the other 5 California colleges offering Plant Sciences
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Shasta CollegeReddingPublic2
Bakersfield CollegeBakersfieldPublic1
University of California-BerkeleyBerkeleyPublic1
Ventura CollegeVenturaPublic1
Coalinga CollegeCoalingaPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Soil and Plant Scientists (SOC 19-1013).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+5.4%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~1,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$71,410
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionSpeakingScienceCritical ThinkingActive LearningActive Listening

What Soil and Plant Scientists earn in California

Jobs in California
1,440
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$99,260
median $91,930
Best-paying metro
$124,130
San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA

Related careers

First-Line Supervisors of Farming, Fishing, and Forestry Workers
$61,320 avg · 10,450 jobs
Agricultural Technicians
$58,530 avg · 2,420 jobs
Conservation Scientists
$88,030 avg · 2,110 jobs
Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural Managers
$122,560 avg · 1,650 jobs
Soil and Plant Scientists
$99,260 avg · 1,440 jobs
Agricultural Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary
$111,810 avg · 400 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Plant Sciences programs in California.

Which California colleges award the most Plant Sciences degrees?+

California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo (76 graduates a year), California State University - Fresno (72 graduates a year) and University of California-Davis (59 graduates a year) award the most Plant Sciences degrees in California, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 15 California colleges offer Plant Sciences.

What is the best college for Plant Sciences in California?+

By graduate earnings, California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo leads among bachelor's Plant Sciences programs in California, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $63,129, College Scorecard. California State University - Fresno and California State Polytechnic University - Pomona follow. By degrees awarded, California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo is the largest, with 76 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Plant Sciences program in California has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo tops the list at $63,129. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Soil and Plant Scientists earn in California?+

The average annual wage for Soil and Plant Scientists in California is $99,260 (median $91,930), across about 1,440 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Plant Sciences program?+

The Plant Sciences program focuses on the study of plants, their growth, reproduction, and evolution, encompassing a wide range of topics within agricultural, animal, and veterinary sciences. This program is ideal for students interested…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, speaking, science, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Soil and Plant Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about +5.4% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card