California · Germanic Languages

Best colleges for Germanic Languages in California

Ranked by graduates a year

Palomar College, Diablo Valley College and Stanford University award the most Germanic Languages degrees and certificates in California: 12, 5 and 5 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 14 California colleges offer Germanic Languages and award 47 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Germanic Languages program, officially titled Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, focuses on the study of Germanic-speaking peoples and their languages. This program is ideal for students interested in exploring the rich…

Institutions
14
offering CIP 16.05
States offered
45
with a program page
Degrees / yr
47
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$12,032
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
64%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Interpreters and Translators
$78,800
BLS OEWS May 2025

14 institutions offering Germanic Languages in California

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Palomar College
San Marcos Public
—1238%——
2Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill Public
—549%——
3Stanford University
Stanford Private not-for-profit
—592%$12,032—
4Pasadena City College
Pasadena Public
—448%——
5University of California-Berkeley
Berkeley Public
—393%——
6University of California-Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Public
—383%——
7College of the Canyons
Santa Clarita Public
—345%——
8De Anza College
Cupertino Public
—368%——
9California State University - Chico
Chico Public
—263%——
10California State University - Long Beach
Long Beach Public
—269%——
11University of California-Davis
Davis Public
—286%——
12Grossmont College
El Cajon Public
—137%——
13San Diego State University
San Diego Public
—176%——
14San Francisco State University
San Francisco Public
—150%——

Colleges awarding the most Germanic Languages degrees in California

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Palomar College
San Marcos Public
12Not reported
2Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill Public
5Not reported
3Stanford University
Stanford Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
4Pasadena City College
Pasadena Public
4Not reported
5University of California-Berkeley
Berkeley Public
3Not reported
6University of California-Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Public
3Not reported
7College of the Canyons
Santa Clarita Public
3Not reported
8De Anza College
Cupertino Public
3Not reported
9California State University - Chico
Chico Public
2Not reported
10California State University - Long Beach
Long Beach Public
2Not reported
Show the other 4 California colleges offering Germanic Languages
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
University of California-DavisDavisPublic2
Grossmont CollegeEl CajonPublic1
San Diego State UniversitySan DiegoPublic1
San Francisco State UniversitySan FranciscoPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~6,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$59,440
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingMonitoringCritical Thinking

What Interpreters and Translators earn in California

Jobs in California
5,560
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$78,800
median $70,770
Best-paying metro
$93,650
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA

Related careers

Interpreters and Translators
$78,800 avg · 5,560 jobs
Foreign Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary
$116,230 avg · 2,170 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Germanic Languages programs in California.

Which California colleges award the most Germanic Languages degrees?+

Palomar College (12 graduates a year), Diablo Valley College (5 graduates a year) and Stanford University (5 graduates a year) award the most Germanic Languages degrees and certificates in California, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 14 California colleges offer Germanic Languages.

How much do Interpreters and Translators earn in California?+

The average annual wage for Interpreters and Translators in California is $78,800 (median $70,770), across about 5,560 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Germanic Languages program?+

The Germanic Languages program, officially titled Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, focuses on the study of Germanic-speaking peoples and their languages. This program is ideal for students interested in exploring the rich…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Interpreters and Translators?+

The national job outlook is about +1.7% growth with around 6,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card