California · Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Best colleges for Biological and Biomedical Sciences in California

Ranked by graduates a year

Chabot College, Ventura College and Solano Community College award the most Biological and Biomedical Sciences degrees and certificates in California: 350, 260 and 210 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 13 California colleges offer Biological and Biomedical Sciences and award 1,006 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Biological and Biomedical Sciences program focuses on the application of biological principles and engineering tools to develop practical solutions in various fields. This interdisciplinary program is ideal for students interested in…

Institutions
13
offering CIP 26.99
States offered
38
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,006
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$26,171
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
59%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Biological Scientists, All Other
$123,840
BLS OEWS May 2025

13 institutions offering Biological and Biomedical Sciences in California

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Chabot College
Hayward Public
—35047%——
2Ventura College
Ventura Public
—26038%——
3Solano Community College
Fairfield Public
—21036%——
4City College of San Francisco
San Francisco Public
—7640%——
5California State University - Bakersfield
Bakersfield Public
—3550%——
6Contra Costa College
San Pablo Public
—2628%——
7San Jose City College
San Jose Public
—1634%——
8University of Southern California
Los Angeles Private not-for-profit
—1192%$26,873—
9University of California-Davis
Davis Public
—786%——
10Stanford University
Stanford Private not-for-profit
—692%$12,032—
11University of California-San Diego
La Jolla Public
—486%——
12Loma Linda University
Loma Linda Private not-for-profit
—3———
13Scripps College
Claremont Private not-for-profit
—283%$26,171—

Colleges awarding the most Biological and Biomedical Sciences degrees in California

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Chabot College
Hayward Public
350Not reported
2Ventura College
Ventura Public
260Not reported
3Solano Community College
Fairfield Public
210Not reported
4City College of San Francisco
San Francisco Public
76Not reported
5California State University - Bakersfield
Bakersfield Public
35Not reported
6San Jose City College
San Jose Public
16Not reported
7University of Southern California
Los Angeles Private not-for-profit
11Not reported
8University of California-Davis
Davis Public
7Not reported
9Stanford University
Stanford Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
10University of California-San Diego
La Jolla Public
4Not reported
Show the other 3 California colleges offering Biological and Biomedical Sciences
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Contra Costa CollegeSan PabloPublic26
Loma Linda UniversityLoma LindaPrivate not-for-profit3
Scripps CollegeClaremontPrivate not-for-profit2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Biological Scientists, All Other (SOC 19-1029).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.2%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~4,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$93,330
typically Bachelor's degree

What Biological Scientists, All Other earn in California

Jobs in California
11,880
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$123,840
median $113,530
Best-paying metro
$148,020
San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA

Related careers

Biological Scientists, All Other
$123,840 avg · 11,880 jobs
Biological Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$146,810 avg · 3,610 jobs
Life Scientists, All Other
$117,510 avg · 860 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Biological and Biomedical Sciences programs in California.

Which California colleges award the most Biological and Biomedical Sciences degrees?+

Chabot College (350 graduates a year), Ventura College (260 graduates a year) and Solano Community College (210 graduates a year) award the most Biological and Biomedical Sciences degrees and certificates in California, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 13 California colleges offer Biological and Biomedical Sciences.

How much do Biological Scientists, All Other earn in California?+

The average annual wage for Biological Scientists, All Other in California is $123,840 (median $113,530), across about 11,880 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Biological and Biomedical Sciences program?+

The Biological and Biomedical Sciences program focuses on the application of biological principles and engineering tools to develop practical solutions in various fields. This interdisciplinary program is ideal for students interested in…

What is the job outlook for Biological Scientists, All Other?+

The national job outlook is about +1.2% growth with around 4,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Biological and Biomedical Sciences in other statesNew YorkIndianaPennsylvaniaIllinoisNew HampshirePuerto RicoAlabamaArkansas

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card