Arizona · Social Work

Best colleges for Social Work in Arizona

Ranked by graduate earnings

Arizona State University Campus Immersion, Grand Canyon University and Northern Arizona University are the top bachelor's Social Work programs in Arizona by graduate earnings. Arizona State University Campus Immersion leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $39,842, College Scorecard. Grand Canyon University, Arizona State University Campus Immersion and Northern Arizona University award the most Social Work degrees in Arizona: 731, 313 and 193 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 17 Arizona colleges offer Social Work and award 1,717 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Social Work program prepares students to support individuals and communities in overcoming challenges and improving their well-being. This field focuses on advocacy, education, and resource connection, making it ideal for those…

Institutions
17
offering CIP 44.07
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,717
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$39,017
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,535
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
26%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Healthcare Social Workers
$68,330
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Arizona State University Campus Immersion
Tempe Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,84231368%—$20,000
2Grand Canyon University
Phoenix Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$39,01773143%$21,535$35,959
3Northern Arizona University
Flagstaff Public · Bachelor's degree
$38,24719361%—$20,500

Colleges awarding the most Social Work degrees in Arizona

Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Grand Canyon University
Phoenix Private not-for-profit
731$39,017
2Arizona State University Campus Immersion
Tempe Public
313$39,842
3Northern Arizona University
Flagstaff Public
193$38,247
4Estrella Mountain Community College
Avondale Public
10Not reported
5Chandler-Gilbert Community College
Chandler Public
5Not reported
Show the other 12 Arizona colleges offering Social Work
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Arizona State University Digital Immersion (Online)ScottsdalePublic283
University of Phoenix-Arizona (Online)PhoenixPrivate for-profit80
Mesa Community CollegeMesaPublic31
Tohono O'odham Community College (Online)SellsPublic28
Phoenix CollegePhoenixPublic12
Glendale Community CollegeGlendalePublic11
Paradise Valley Community CollegePhoenixPublic7
Dine CollegeTsailePublic6
Pima Community CollegeTucsonPublic3
Rio Salado CollegeTempePublic2
GateWay Community CollegePhoenixPublic1
South Mountain Community CollegePhoenixPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Healthcare Social Workers (SOC 21-1022).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+7.7%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~18,400
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$68,090
typically Master's degree

Top skills

SpeakingCritical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingActive Learning

What Healthcare Social Workers earn in Arizona

Jobs in Arizona
3,100
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$68,330
median $64,030
Best-paying metro
$71,460
Flagstaff, AZ

Related careers

Child, Family, and School Social Workers
$52,420 avg · 7,560 jobs
Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers
$50,630 avg · 3,690 jobs
Healthcare Social Workers
$68,330 avg · 3,100 jobs
Social and Community Service Managers
$81,440 avg · 3,010 jobs
Social Workers, All Other
$66,870 avg · 2,850 jobs
Probation Officers and Correctional Treatment Specialists
$62,370 avg · 1,100 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Social Work programs in Arizona.

Which Arizona colleges award the most Social Work degrees?+

Grand Canyon University (731 graduates a year), Arizona State University Campus Immersion (313 graduates a year) and Northern Arizona University (193 graduates a year) award the most Social Work degrees in Arizona, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 17 Arizona colleges offer Social Work.

What is the best college for Social Work in Arizona?+

By graduate earnings, Arizona State University Campus Immersion leads among bachelor's Social Work programs in Arizona, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $39,842, College Scorecard. Grand Canyon University and Northern Arizona University follow. By degrees awarded, Grand Canyon University is the largest, with 731 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Social Work program in Arizona has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Arizona State University Campus Immersion tops the list at $39,842. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Healthcare Social Workers earn in Arizona?+

The average annual wage for Healthcare Social Workers in Arizona is $68,330 (median $64,030), across about 3,100 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Social Work program?+

The Social Work program prepares students to support individuals and communities in overcoming challenges and improving their well-being. This field focuses on advocacy, education, and resource connection, making it ideal for those…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Healthcare Social Workers?+

The national job outlook is about +7.7% growth with around 18,400 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card