Alabama · Teacher Education and Professional Development

Best colleges for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Alabama

Ranked by graduate earnings

Samford University, The University of Alabama and University of Alabama at Birmingham are the top bachelor's Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Alabama by graduate earnings. Samford University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $44,644, College Scorecard. University of West Alabama, Troy University and University of North Alabama award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Alabama: 610, 274 and 267 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 25 Alabama colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development and award 2,373 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focusing on various levels and methods, prepares individuals for careers in education. This program is designed for those who aspire to teach or work in educational…

Institutions
25
offering CIP 13.12
States & territories
57
with a program page
Degrees / yr
2,373
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$42,701
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
13
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,604
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
48%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education
$31,160
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Samford University
Birmingham Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$44,6443577%$28,160$24,250
2The University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa Public · Bachelor's degree
$44,02519373%—$26,875
3University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham Public · Bachelor's degree
$42,9817464%—$31,000
4Auburn University
Auburn Public · Bachelor's degree
$42,87816282%—$22,250
5Troy University
Troy Public · Bachelor's degree
$42,78827450%—$25,000
6University of North Alabama
Florence Public · Bachelor's degree
$42,52926755%—$25,000
7University of Montevallo
Montevallo Public · Bachelor's degree
$41,6924254%—$24,750
8Jacksonville State University
Jacksonville Public · Bachelor's degree
$41,38421055%—$25,114
9University of South Alabama
Mobile Public · Bachelor's degree
$41,10511953%—$26,000
10Auburn University at Montgomery
Montgomery Public · Bachelor's degree
$41,0815433%—$30,750

Colleges awarding the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Alabama

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of West Alabama
Livingston Public
610Not reported
2Troy University
Troy Public
274$42,788
3University of North Alabama
Florence Public
267$42,529
4Jacksonville State University
Jacksonville Public
210$41,384
5The University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa Public
193$44,025
6Auburn University
Auburn Public
162$42,878
7University of South Alabama
Mobile Public
119$41,105
8University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham Public
74$42,981
9University of Alabama in Huntsville
Huntsville Public
58Not reported
10Auburn University at Montgomery
Montgomery Public
54$41,081
Show the other 15 Alabama colleges offering Teacher Education and Professional Development
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Athens State University (Degree completion)AthensPublic126
University of MontevalloMontevalloPublic42
Samford UniversityBirminghamPrivate not-for-profit35
Alabama State UniversityMontgomeryPublic34
Bishop State Community CollegeMobilePublic29
Alabama A & M UniversityNormalPublic21
University of MobileMobilePrivate not-for-profit15
Spring Hill CollegeMobilePrivate not-for-profit13
Faulkner UniversityMontgomeryPrivate not-for-profit12
Miles CollegeFairfieldPrivate not-for-profit9
Huntingdon CollegeMontgomeryPrivate not-for-profit6
Tuskegee UniversityTuskegeePrivate not-for-profit5
Stillman CollegeTuscaloosaPrivate not-for-profit3
Oakwood UniversityHuntsvillePrivate not-for-profit1
Talladega CollegeTalladegaPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education (SOC 25-2011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~65,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$37,120
typically Associate's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningLearning StrategiesReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingMonitoring

What Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Alabama

Jobs in Alabama
7,910
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$31,160
median $28,310
Best-paying metro
$37,650
Mobile, AL

Related careers

Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
$59,590 avg · 22,030 jobs
Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
$60,320 avg · 10,000 jobs
Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education
$31,160 avg · 7,910 jobs
Training and Development Specialists
$71,050 avg · 3,000 jobs
Self-Enrichment Teachers
$41,510 avg · 2,130 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Alabama.

Which Alabama colleges award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees?+

University of West Alabama (610 graduates a year), Troy University (274 graduates a year) and University of North Alabama (267 graduates a year) award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 25 Alabama colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development.

What is the best college for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Alabama?+

By graduate earnings, Samford University leads among bachelor's Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Alabama, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $44,644, College Scorecard. The University of Alabama and University of Alabama at Birmingham follow. By degrees awarded, University of West Alabama is the largest, with 610 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Teacher Education and Professional Development program in Alabama has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Samford University tops the list at $44,644. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Alabama?+

The average annual wage for Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education in Alabama is $31,160 (median $28,310), across about 7,910 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Teacher Education and Professional Development program?+

The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focusing on various levels and methods, prepares individuals for careers in education. This program is designed for those who aspire to teach or work in educational…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, learning strategies, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education?+

The national job outlook is about +4.1% growth with around 65,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Teacher Education and Professional Development in other statesDistrict of ColumbiaNew JerseyAlaskaMarylandHawaiiUtahNevadaDelaware

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card