Alabama · Public Health

Best colleges for Public Health in Alabama

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Alabama at Birmingham, The University of Alabama and Samford University award the most Public Health degrees in Alabama: 436, 241 and 30 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 11 Alabama colleges offer Public Health and award 802 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Public Health program focuses on promoting health and preventing disease within communities. It prepares students to address health-related issues through various specializations, including Environmental Health, Maternal and Child…

Institutions
11
offering CIP 51.22
States & territories
55
with a program page
Degrees / yr
802
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$34,789
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$25,720
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
54%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Medical and Health Services Managers
$105,940
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1The University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa Public · Bachelor's degree
$35,69824173%—$25,000
2University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham Public · Bachelor's degree
$32,18743664%—$25,000
3South University - Montgomery
Montgomery Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$34,78979%$25,720$56,262

Colleges awarding the most Public Health degrees in Alabama

Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham Public
436$32,187
2The University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa Public
241$35,698
3Samford University
Birmingham Private not-for-profit
30Not reported
4Tuskegee University
Tuskegee Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
5Oakwood University
Huntsville Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
6Spring Hill College
Mobile Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
7Auburn University
Auburn Public
1Not reported
8University of North Alabama
Florence Public
1Not reported
Show the other 3 Alabama colleges offering Public Health
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Columbia Southern University (Online)Orange BeachPrivate for-profit68
Athens State University (Degree completion)AthensPublic10
South University - MontgomeryMontgomeryPrivate for-profit7

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Medical and Health Services Managers (SOC 11-9111).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+23.2%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~62,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$117,960
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

SpeakingCritical ThinkingWritingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningMonitoring

What Medical and Health Services Managers earn in Alabama

Jobs in Alabama
10,360
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$105,940
median $97,790
Best-paying metro
$115,780
Auburn-Opelika, AL

Related careers

Medical and Health Services Managers
$105,940 avg · 10,360 jobs
Compliance Officers
$78,330 avg · 3,770 jobs
Occupational Health and Safety Specialists
$86,060 avg · 2,510 jobs
Occupational Health and Safety Technicians
$62,430 avg · 880 jobs
Environmental Scientists and Specialists, Including Health
$74,510 avg · 870 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Public Health programs in Alabama.

Which Alabama colleges award the most Public Health degrees?+

University of Alabama at Birmingham (436 graduates a year), The University of Alabama (241 graduates a year) and Samford University (30 graduates a year) award the most Public Health degrees in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 11 Alabama colleges offer Public Health.

Which Public Health program in Alabama has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, The University of Alabama tops the list at $35,698. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Medical and Health Services Managers earn in Alabama?+

The average annual wage for Medical and Health Services Managers in Alabama is $105,940 (median $97,790), across about 10,360 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Public Health program?+

The Public Health program focuses on promoting health and preventing disease within communities. It prepares students to address health-related issues through various specializations, including Environmental Health, Maternal and Child…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, critical thinking, writing, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Medical and Health Services Managers?+

The national job outlook is about +23.2% growth with around 62,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card