Wisconsin · English Language and Literature

Best colleges for English Language and Literature in Wisconsin

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse and University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh are the top bachelor's English Language and Literature programs in Wisconsin by graduate earnings. University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $39,591, College Scorecard. University of Wisconsin-Madison, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire award the most English Language and Literature degrees in Wisconsin: 130, 67 and 53 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 26 Wisconsin colleges offer English Language and Literature and award 531 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The English Language and Literature program, also known as English studies, focuses on the study, analysis, and exploration of English literature through various texts. This program is designed for students interested in deepening their…

Institutions
26
offering CIP 23.01
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
531
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$34,587
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
10
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,601
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
60%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Proofreaders and Copy Markers
$42,590
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Eau Claire Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,5915364%—$23,874
2University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
La Crosse Public · Bachelor's degree
$37,7483871%—$23,250
3University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Oshkosh Public · Bachelor's degree
$34,6332646%—$26,000
4University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Whitewater Public · Bachelor's degree
$33,3183059%—$27,000
5University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Stevens Point Public · Bachelor's degree
$31,8963051%—$24,930
6University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Milwaukee Public · Bachelor's degree
$28,6906749%—$26,291
7University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison Public · Bachelor's degree
$28,52613090%—$20,500
8University of Wisconsin-Green Bay
Green Bay Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$40,8121948%—$25,000
9University of Wisconsin-River Falls
River Falls Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$37,5861457%—$24,495
10Carthage College
Kenosha Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$34,587964%$22,844$26,269

Colleges awarding the most English Language and Literature degrees in Wisconsin

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison Public
130$28,526
2University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Milwaukee Public
67$28,690
3University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Eau Claire Public
53$39,591
4University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
La Crosse Public
38$37,748
5University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Whitewater Public
30$33,318
6University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Stevens Point Public
30$31,896
7University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Oshkosh Public
26$34,633
8Lawrence University
Appleton Private not-for-profit
25Not reported
9Marquette University
Milwaukee Private not-for-profit
21Not reported
10University of Wisconsin-Green Bay
Green Bay Public
19$40,812
Show the other 16 Wisconsin colleges offering English Language and Literature
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Saint Norbert CollegeDe PerePrivate not-for-profit14
University of Wisconsin-River FallsRiver FallsPublic14
University of Wisconsin-PlattevillePlattevillePublic11
University of Wisconsin-ParksideKenoshaPublic10
Carthage CollegeKenoshaPrivate not-for-profit9
Carroll UniversityWaukeshaPrivate not-for-profit8
University of Wisconsin-SuperiorSuperiorPublic8
Ripon CollegeRiponPrivate not-for-profit5
Maranatha Baptist UniversityWatertownPrivate not-for-profit3
Alverno CollegeMilwaukeePrivate not-for-profit2
Edgewood UniversityMadisonPrivate not-for-profit2
Wisconsin Lutheran CollegeMilwaukeePrivate not-for-profit2
Concordia University - WisconsinMequonPrivate not-for-profit1
Lakeland UniversityPlymouthPrivate not-for-profit1
Mount Mary UniversityMilwaukeePrivate not-for-profit1
Viterbo UniversityLa CrossePrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Proofreaders and Copy Markers (SOC 43-9081).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-0.6%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~1,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$49,210
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionWritingSpeakingActive ListeningCritical ThinkingMonitoring

What Proofreaders and Copy Markers earn in Wisconsin

Jobs in Wisconsin
60
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$42,590
median $43,630
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

English Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary
$92,220 avg · 840 jobs
Proofreaders and Copy Markers
$42,590 avg · 60 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing English Language and Literature programs in Wisconsin.

Which Wisconsin colleges award the most English Language and Literature degrees?+

University of Wisconsin-Madison (130 graduates a year), University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (67 graduates a year) and University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (53 graduates a year) award the most English Language and Literature degrees in Wisconsin, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 26 Wisconsin colleges offer English Language and Literature.

What is the best college for English Language and Literature in Wisconsin?+

By graduate earnings, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire leads among bachelor's English Language and Literature programs in Wisconsin, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $39,591, College Scorecard. University of Wisconsin-La Crosse and University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh follow. By degrees awarded, University of Wisconsin-Madison is the largest, with 130 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which English Language and Literature program in Wisconsin has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire tops the list at $39,591. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Proofreaders and Copy Markers earn in Wisconsin?+

The average annual wage for Proofreaders and Copy Markers in Wisconsin is $42,590 (median $43,630), across about 60 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the English Language and Literature program?+

The English Language and Literature program, also known as English studies, focuses on the study, analysis, and exploration of English literature through various texts. This program is designed for students interested in deepening their…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, writing, speaking, active listening, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Proofreaders and Copy Markers?+

The national job outlook is about -0.6% growth with around 1,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card