Best colleges for Engineering in West Virginia
Ranked by graduate earnings
West Virginia University, Marshall University and Potomac State College of West Virginia University award the most Engineering degrees and certificates in West Virginia: 34, 7 and 7 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 4 West Virginia colleges offer Engineering and award 51 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Engineering program, formally known as Engineering, General, encompasses a broad range of disciplines that apply scientific theories and mathematical methods to develop technological solutions. This program is ideal for students…
Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Marshall University Huntington Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $60,254 | 7 | 51% | — | $27,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Engineering degrees in West Virginia
Top 4 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | West Virginia University Morgantown Public | 34 | Not reported |
| 2 | Marshall University Huntington Public | 7 | $60,254 |
| 3 | Potomac State College of West Virginia University Keyser Public | 7 | Not reported |
| 4 | West Virginia State University Institute Public | 3 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Engineers, All Other (SOC 17-2199).
What Engineers, All Other earn in West Virginia
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Engineering programs in West Virginia.
Which West Virginia colleges award the most Engineering degrees?+
West Virginia University (34 graduates a year), Marshall University (7 graduates a year) and Potomac State College of West Virginia University (7 graduates a year) award the most Engineering degrees and certificates in West Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 4 West Virginia colleges offer Engineering.
How much do Engineers, All Other earn in West Virginia?+
The average annual wage for Engineers, All Other in West Virginia is $115,630 (median $118,800), across about 660 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Engineering program?+
The Engineering program, formally known as Engineering, General, encompasses a broad range of disciplines that apply scientific theories and mathematical methods to develop technological solutions. This program is ideal for students…
What is the job outlook for Engineers, All Other?+
The national job outlook is about +2.1% growth with around 9,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card