West Virginia · Criminal Justice and Corrections

Best colleges for Criminal Justice and Corrections in West Virginia

Ranked by graduate earnings

West Virginia State University, Fairmont State University and Marshall University are the top bachelor's Criminal Justice and Corrections programs in West Virginia by graduate earnings. West Virginia State University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $39,056, College Scorecard. Marshall University, West Virginia State University and Fairmont State University award the most Criminal Justice and Corrections degrees in West Virginia: 49, 49 and 41 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 25 West Virginia colleges offer Criminal Justice and Corrections and award 1,263 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Criminal Justice and Corrections program focuses on the various functions carried out by government agencies related to the punishment, treatment, and supervision of individuals convicted of crimes. This program is ideal for students…

Institutions
25
offering CIP 43.01
States & territories
57
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,263
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$32,747
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
8
College Scorecard
Median net price
$17,325
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
36%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Correctional Officers and Jailers
$56,670
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 8 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1West Virginia State University
Institute Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,0564939%—$25,860
2Fairmont State University
Fairmont Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,1794144%—$25,557
3Marshall University
Huntington Public · Bachelor's degree
$32,7474951%—$25,873
4American Public University System
Charles Town Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree Online
$57,40991257%$10,199$19,000
5Strayer University - West Virginia
Scott Depot Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree Online Small program
$43,40510%$16,943$56,937
6West Virginia Wesleyan College
Buckhannon Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$31,4001357%$17,325$27,000
7Bluefield State University
Bluefield Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$30,506937%—$30,250
8Salem University
Salem Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$25,6652420%$14,845$30,949

Colleges awarding the most Criminal Justice and Corrections degrees in West Virginia

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Marshall University
Huntington Public
49$32,747
2West Virginia State University
Institute Public
49$39,056
3Fairmont State University
Fairmont Public
41$36,179
4Blue Ridge Community and Technical College
Martinsburg Public
30Not reported
5Shepherd University
Shepherdstown Public
20Not reported
6Potomac State College of West Virginia University
Keyser Public
16Not reported
7West Virginia Wesleyan College
Buckhannon Private not-for-profit
13$31,400
8Bluefield State University
Bluefield Public
9$30,506
9West Virginia Northern Community College
Wheeling Public
8Not reported
10West Virginia University Institute of Technology
Beckley Public
7Not reported
Show the other 15 West Virginia colleges offering Criminal Justice and Corrections
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
American Public University System (Online)Charles TownPrivate for-profit912
West Virginia University at ParkersburgParkersburgPublic48
Salem UniversitySalemPrivate for-profit24
Wheeling UniversityWheelingPrivate not-for-profit6
BridgeValley Community & Technical CollegeSouth CharlestonPublic6
Bethany CollegeBethanyPrivate not-for-profit4
Southern West Virginia Community and Technical CollegeLoganPublic4
West Liberty UniversityWest LibertyPublic4
University of CharlestonCharlestonPrivate not-for-profit3
Pierpont Community and Technical CollegeFairmontPublic3
Mountwest Community and Technical CollegeHuntingtonPublic2
New River Community and Technical CollegeBeaverPublic2
Davis & Elkins CollegeElkinsPrivate not-for-profit1
Glenville State UniversityGlenvillePublic1
Strayer University - West Virginia (Online)Scott DepotPrivate for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Correctional Officers and Jailers (SOC 33-3012).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-7.8%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~30,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$57,970
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Active ListeningMonitoringSpeakingCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive Learning

What Correctional Officers and Jailers earn in West Virginia

Jobs in West Virginia
2,980
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$56,670
median $52,890
Best-paying metro
$59,610
Wheeling, WV-OH

Related careers

Security Guards
$31,320 avg · 5,200 jobs
Correctional Officers and Jailers
$56,670 avg · 2,980 jobs
Police and Sheriff's Patrol Officers
$55,900 avg · 2,900 jobs
Child, Family, and School Social Workers
$52,610 avg · 2,380 jobs
Compliance Officers
$74,330 avg · 1,720 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Criminal Justice and Corrections programs in West Virginia.

Which West Virginia colleges award the most Criminal Justice and Corrections degrees?+

Marshall University (49 graduates a year), West Virginia State University (49 graduates a year) and Fairmont State University (41 graduates a year) award the most Criminal Justice and Corrections degrees in West Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 25 West Virginia colleges offer Criminal Justice and Corrections.

What is the best college for Criminal Justice and Corrections in West Virginia?+

By graduate earnings, West Virginia State University leads among bachelor's Criminal Justice and Corrections programs in West Virginia, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $39,056, College Scorecard. Fairmont State University and Marshall University follow. By degrees awarded, Marshall University is the largest, with 49 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Criminal Justice and Corrections program in West Virginia has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, West Virginia State University tops the list at $39,056. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Correctional Officers and Jailers earn in West Virginia?+

The average annual wage for Correctional Officers and Jailers in West Virginia is $56,670 (median $52,890), across about 2,980 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Criminal Justice and Corrections program?+

The Criminal Justice and Corrections program focuses on the various functions carried out by government agencies related to the punishment, treatment, and supervision of individuals convicted of crimes. This program is ideal for students…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, monitoring, speaking, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Correctional Officers and Jailers?+

The national job outlook is about -7.8% growth with around 30,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card