Best colleges for Romance Languages in Washington
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of Washington-Seattle Campus, Western Washington University and Washington State University award the most Romance Languages degrees in Washington: 28, 25 and 13 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 13 Washington colleges offer Romance Languages and award 130 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Romance Languages program, formally known as Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, focuses on the study of languages, literatures, and cultures associated with Romance languages. This program is ideal for students interested…
Top 7 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Washington-Seattle Campus Seattle Public · Bachelor's degree | $34,572 | 28 | 85% | — | $13,559 |
| 2 | Western Washington University Bellingham Public · Bachelor's degree | $26,557 | 25 | 65% | — | $19,121 |
| 3 | Gonzaga University Spokane Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $29,859 | 6 | 86% | $30,006 | $27,000 |
| 4 | Seattle University Seattle Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $28,082 | 6 | 76% | $31,900 | $23,319 |
| 5 | Eastern Washington University Cheney Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $27,427 | 12 | 43% | — | $20,518 |
| 6 | University of Puget Sound Tacoma Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $25,035 | 6 | 68% | $35,057 | $27,000 |
| 7 | Pacific Lutheran University Tacoma Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $24,773 | 12 | 69% | $19,944 | — |
Top certificate or associate program
Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Walla Walla University College Place Private not-for-profit · Certificate Small program | $52,532 | 1 | 60% | $22,260 | $27,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Romance Languages degrees in Washington
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Washington-Seattle Campus Seattle Public | 28 | $34,572 |
| 2 | Western Washington University Bellingham Public | 25 | $26,557 |
| 3 | Washington State University Pullman Public | 13 | Not reported |
| 4 | Eastern Washington University Cheney Public | 12 | $27,427 |
| 5 | Pacific Lutheran University Tacoma Private not-for-profit | 12 | $24,773 |
| 6 | Central Washington University Ellensburg Public | 9 | Not reported |
| 7 | Whitman College Walla Walla Private not-for-profit | 7 | Not reported |
| 8 | Gonzaga University Spokane Private not-for-profit | 6 | $29,859 |
| 9 | University of Puget Sound Tacoma Private not-for-profit | 6 | $25,035 |
| 10 | Seattle University Seattle Private not-for-profit | 6 | $28,082 |
ShowHide the other 3 Washington colleges offering Romance Languages
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Washington-Tacoma Campus | Tacoma | Public | 4 |
| Walla Walla University | College Place | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
| Whitworth University | Spokane | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091).
Top skills
What Interpreters and Translators earn in Washington
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Romance Languages programs in Washington.
Which Washington colleges award the most Romance Languages degrees?+
University of Washington-Seattle Campus (28 graduates a year), Western Washington University (25 graduates a year) and Washington State University (13 graduates a year) award the most Romance Languages degrees in Washington, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 13 Washington colleges offer Romance Languages.
Which Romance Languages program in Washington has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Washington-Seattle Campus tops the list at $34,572. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Interpreters and Translators earn in Washington?+
The average annual wage for Interpreters and Translators in Washington is $70,140 (median $61,750), across about 1,250 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Romance Languages program?+
The Romance Languages program, formally known as Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, focuses on the study of languages, literatures, and cultures associated with Romance languages. This program is ideal for students interested…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Interpreters and Translators?+
The national job outlook is about +1.7% growth with around 6,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card