Washington · Literature

Best colleges for Literature in Washington

Ranked by graduates a year

Saint Martin's University and University of Washington-Seattle Campus award the most Literature degrees and certificates in Washington: 3 and 3 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 2 Washington colleges offer Literature and award 6 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Literature program focuses on the study of literary works and cultural expressions across various languages and cultures. It encompasses a wide range of specializations, including General Literature, American Literature, English…

Institutions
2
offering CIP 23.14
States offered
30
with a program page
Degrees / yr
6
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,131
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
68%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Editors
$83,960
BLS OEWS May 2025

2 institutions offering Literature in Washington

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Saint Martin's University
Lacey Private not-for-profit
—352%$22,131—
2University of Washington-Seattle Campus
Seattle Public
—385%——

Colleges awarding the most Literature degrees in Washington

Top 2 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Saint Martin's University
Lacey Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
2University of Washington-Seattle Campus
Seattle Public
3Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Editors (SOC 27-3041).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+0.6%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~9,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$75,260
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionWritingCritical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingActive Learning

What Editors earn in Washington

Jobs in Washington
1,860
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$83,960
median $77,850
Best-paying metro
$85,440
Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA

Related careers

Editors
$83,960 avg · 1,860 jobs
English Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary
$81,800 avg · 1,000 jobs
Writers and Authors
$90,740 avg · 770 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Literature programs in Washington.

Which Washington colleges award the most Literature degrees?+

Saint Martin's University (3 graduates a year) and University of Washington-Seattle Campus (3 graduates a year) award the most Literature degrees and certificates in Washington, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 2 Washington colleges offer Literature.

How much do Editors earn in Washington?+

The average annual wage for Editors in Washington is $83,960 (median $77,850), across about 1,860 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Literature program?+

The Literature program focuses on the study of literary works and cultural expressions across various languages and cultures. It encompasses a wide range of specializations, including General Literature, American Literature, English…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, writing, critical thinking, active listening, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Editors?+

The national job outlook is about +0.6% growth with around 9,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card