Washington · Forestry

Best colleges for Forestry in Washington

Ranked by graduates a year

University of Washington-Seattle Campus, Green River College and Washington State University award the most Forestry degrees and certificates in Washington: 26, 24 and 8 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 5 Washington colleges offer Forestry and award 71 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Forestry program focuses on the sustainable management and conservation of forest resources. It equips students with the knowledge and skills necessary to address environmental challenges, promote biodiversity, and manage forest…

Institutions
5
offering CIP 03.05
States offered
42
with a program page
Degrees / yr
71
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
51%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Foresters
$84,550
BLS OEWS May 2025

5 institutions offering Forestry in Washington

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Washington-Seattle Campus
Seattle Public
—2685%——
2Green River College
Auburn Public
—2439%——
3Washington State University
Pullman Public
—860%——
4Grays Harbor College
Aberdeen Public
—739%——
5Spokane Community College
Spokane Public
—633%——

Colleges awarding the most Forestry degrees in Washington

Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Washington-Seattle Campus
Seattle Public
26Not reported
2Green River College
Auburn Public
24Not reported
3Washington State University
Pullman Public
8Not reported
4Grays Harbor College
Aberdeen Public
7Not reported
5Spokane Community College
Spokane Public
6Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Foresters (SOC 19-1032).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.2%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~1,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$70,660
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingSpeakingMonitoringWriting

What Foresters earn in Washington

Jobs in Washington
950
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$84,550
median $78,460
Best-paying metro
$93,500
Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA

Related careers

Conservation Scientists
$81,300 avg · 1,270 jobs
First-Line Supervisors of Farming, Fishing, and Forestry Workers
$67,890 avg · 1,220 jobs
Forest and Conservation Technicians
$59,950 avg · 1,160 jobs
Foresters
$84,550 avg · 950 jobs
Forest and Conservation Workers
$45,310 avg · 460 jobs
Forestry and Conservation Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$102,450 avg · 40 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Forestry programs in Washington.

Which Washington colleges award the most Forestry degrees?+

University of Washington-Seattle Campus (26 graduates a year), Green River College (24 graduates a year) and Washington State University (8 graduates a year) award the most Forestry degrees and certificates in Washington, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 5 Washington colleges offer Forestry.

How much do Foresters earn in Washington?+

The average annual wage for Foresters in Washington is $84,550 (median $78,460), across about 950 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Forestry program?+

The Forestry program focuses on the sustainable management and conservation of forest resources. It equips students with the knowledge and skills necessary to address environmental challenges, promote biodiversity, and manage forest…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, reading comprehension, critical thinking, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Foresters?+

The national job outlook is about +1.2% growth with around 1,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card