Best colleges for Fine and Studio Arts in Washington
Ranked by graduate earnings
Central Washington University, University of Washington-Seattle Campus and Western Washington University are the top bachelor's Fine and Studio Arts programs in Washington by graduate earnings. Central Washington University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $26,123, College Scorecard. University of Washington-Seattle Campus, Western Washington University and Central Washington University award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Washington: 169, 57 and 45 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 15 Washington colleges offer Fine and Studio Arts and award 434 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Fine and Studio Arts program focuses on the practice and theory of visual arts and design, encompassing various disciplines such as illustration, painting, sculpture, and graphic design. This program is ideal for students who are…
Top 6 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Central Washington University Ellensburg Public · Bachelor's degree | $26,123 | 45 | 54% | — | $25,000 |
| 2 | University of Washington-Seattle Campus Seattle Public · Bachelor's degree | $25,947 | 169 | 85% | — | $13,667 |
| 3 | Western Washington University Bellingham Public · Bachelor's degree | $23,102 | 57 | 65% | — | $21,246 |
| 4 | Seattle Pacific University Seattle Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $35,938 | 2 | 62% | $24,653 | — |
| 5 | University of Puget Sound Tacoma Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $28,469 | 14 | 68% | $35,057 | $26,345 |
| 6 | Pacific Lutheran University Tacoma Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $23,766 | 18 | 69% | $19,944 | $25,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Washington
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Washington-Seattle Campus Seattle Public | 169 | $25,947 |
| 2 | Western Washington University Bellingham Public | 57 | $23,102 |
| 3 | Central Washington University Ellensburg Public | 45 | $26,123 |
| 4 | Washington State University Pullman Public | 32 | Not reported |
| 5 | Whitman College Walla Walla Private not-for-profit | 26 | Not reported |
| 6 | Eastern Washington University Cheney Public | 25 | Not reported |
| 7 | The Evergreen State College Olympia Public | 19 | Not reported |
| 8 | Pacific Lutheran University Tacoma Private not-for-profit | 18 | $23,766 |
| 9 | University of Puget Sound Tacoma Private not-for-profit | 14 | $28,469 |
| 10 | Gonzaga University Spokane Private not-for-profit | 12 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 5 Washington colleges offering Fine and Studio Arts
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Whitworth University | Spokane | Private not-for-profit | 7 |
| Seattle University | Seattle | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
| Seattle Pacific University | Seattle | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Walla Walla University | College Place | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Heritage University | Toppenish | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators (SOC 27-1013).
Top skills
What Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators earn in Washington
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Fine and Studio Arts programs in Washington.
Which Washington colleges award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees?+
University of Washington-Seattle Campus (169 graduates a year), Western Washington University (57 graduates a year) and Central Washington University (45 graduates a year) award the most Fine and Studio Arts degrees in Washington, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 15 Washington colleges offer Fine and Studio Arts.
What is the best college for Fine and Studio Arts in Washington?+
By graduate earnings, Central Washington University leads among bachelor's Fine and Studio Arts programs in Washington, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $26,123, College Scorecard. University of Washington-Seattle Campus and Western Washington University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Washington-Seattle Campus is the largest, with 169 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Fine and Studio Arts program in Washington has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Central Washington University tops the list at $26,123. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators earn in Washington?+
The average annual wage for Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators in Washington is $76,000 (median $72,430), across about 350 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Fine and Studio Arts program?+
The Fine and Studio Arts program focuses on the practice and theory of visual arts and design, encompassing various disciplines such as illustration, painting, sculpture, and graphic design. This program is ideal for students who are…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, active learning, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Fine Artists, Including Painters, Sculptors, and Illustrators?+
The national job outlook is about -1.2% growth with around 2,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card