Washington · Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions

Best colleges for Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions in Washington

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Washington-Seattle Campus, Clover Park Technical College and Clark College are the top Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions programs in Washington by graduate earnings. University of Washington-Seattle Campus leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $70,225, College Scorecard. Bates Technical College, Green River College and Pima Medical Institute - Renton award the most Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Washington: 171, 106 and 89 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 18 Washington colleges offer Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions and award 750 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions program prepares students for careers as licensed healthcare professionals who perform diagnostic testing on body fluids, such as blood and urine. This program is…

Institutions
18
offering CIP 51.10
States & territories
52
with a program page
Degrees / yr
750
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$42,066
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
5
College Scorecard
Median net price
$31,697
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
42%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Medical Equipment Preparers
$58,170
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 5 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Washington-Seattle Campus
Seattle Public · Bachelor's degree
$70,2253785%—$20,096
2Clover Park Technical College
Lakewood Public · Certificate
$42,0663843%——
3Clark College
Vancouver Public · Certificate
$33,5702939%——
4Pima Medical Institute - Renton
Renton Private for-profit · Certificate
$31,0718969%$31,697$3,167
5Heritage University
Toppenish Private not-for-profit · Graduate degree Small program
$78,0621354%$13,380—

Colleges awarding the most Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions degrees in Washington

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Bates Technical College
Tacoma Public
171Not reported
2Green River College
Auburn Public
106Not reported
3Pima Medical Institute - Renton
Renton Private for-profit
89$31,071
4Renton Technical College
Renton Public
82Not reported
5Clover Park Technical College
Lakewood Public
38$42,066
6University of Washington-Seattle Campus
Seattle Public
37$70,225
7Walla Walla Community College
Walla Walla Public
32Not reported
8Clark College
Vancouver Public
29$33,570
9Columbia Basin College
Pasco Public
24Not reported
10Olympic College
Bremerton Public
20Not reported
Show the other 8 Washington colleges offering Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Yakima Valley CollegeYakimaPublic30
Edmonds CollegeLynnwoodPublic23
Shoreline CollegeShorelinePublic16
Bellevue CollegeBellevuePublic14
Centralia CollegeCentraliaPublic14
Heritage UniversityToppenishPrivate not-for-profit13
Seattle Central CollegeSeattlePublic9
Peninsula CollegePort AngelesPublic3

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Medical Equipment Preparers (SOC 31-9093).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+10.0%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~10,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$46,490
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Critical ThinkingMonitoringActive ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingActive Learning

What Medical Equipment Preparers earn in Washington

Jobs in Washington
1,670
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$58,170
median $58,830
Best-paying metro
$63,660
Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA

Related careers

Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other
$71,840 avg · 3,870 jobs
Phlebotomists
$51,490 avg · 2,820 jobs
Surgical Technologists
$78,400 avg · 2,510 jobs
Medical Equipment Preparers
$58,170 avg · 1,670 jobs
Ophthalmic Laboratory Technicians
$50,500 avg · 260 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions programs in Washington.

Which Washington colleges award the most Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions degrees?+

Bates Technical College (171 graduates a year), Green River College (106 graduates a year) and Pima Medical Institute - Renton (89 graduates a year) award the most Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Washington, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 18 Washington colleges offer Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions.

What is the best college for Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions in Washington?+

By graduate earnings, University of Washington-Seattle Campus leads among Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions programs in Washington, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $70,225, College Scorecard. Clover Park Technical College and Clark College follow. By degrees awarded, Bates Technical College is the largest, with 171 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions program in Washington has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Washington-Seattle Campus tops the list at $70,225. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Medical Equipment Preparers earn in Washington?+

The average annual wage for Medical Equipment Preparers in Washington is $58,170 (median $58,830), across about 1,670 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions program?+

The Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions program prepares students for careers as licensed healthcare professionals who perform diagnostic testing on body fluids, such as blood and urine. This program is…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, monitoring, active listening, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Medical Equipment Preparers?+

The national job outlook is about +10.0% growth with around 10,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions in other statesNew YorkAlaskaOregonDelawareMinnesotaMassachusettsMarylandUtah

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card