Virginia · Philosophy

Best colleges for Philosophy in Virginia

Ranked by graduate earnings

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, University of Virginia and William & Mary award the most Philosophy degrees and certificates in Virginia: 53, 23 and 16 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 18 Virginia colleges offer Philosophy and award 165 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Philosophy program offers a systematic study of fundamental questions related to existence, knowledge, mind, reason, language, and value. It is designed for students interested in engaging in rational and critical inquiry, reflecting…

Institutions
18
offering CIP 38.01
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
165
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$26,192
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,034
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
66%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mathematicians
$146,240
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$26,1921663%—$21,500

Colleges awarding the most Philosophy degrees in Virginia

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Blacksburg Public
53Not reported
2University of Virginia
Charlottesville Public
23Not reported
3William & Mary
Williamsburg Public
16Not reported
4George Mason University
Fairfax Public
16Not reported
5Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond Public
16$26,192
6Old Dominion University
Norfolk Public
13Not reported
7Christopher Newport University
Newport News Public
10Not reported
8Hampden-Sydney College
Hampden-Sydney Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
9Hollins University
Roanoke Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
10Randolph College
Lynchburg Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
Show the other 8 Virginia colleges offering Philosophy
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
University of RichmondUniversity of RichmondPrivate not-for-profit2
Washington and Lee UniversityLexingtonPrivate not-for-profit2
Emory & Henry UniversityEmoryPrivate not-for-profit1
University of LynchburgLynchburgPrivate not-for-profit1
Roanoke CollegeSalemPrivate not-for-profit1
Southern Virginia UniversityBuena VistaPrivate not-for-profit1
Sweet Briar CollegeSweet BriarPrivate not-for-profit1
Virginia Wesleyan UniversityVirginia BeachPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mathematicians (SOC 15-2021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-0.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$121,680
typically Master's degree

Top skills

MathematicsCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive LearningScienceWriting

What Mathematicians earn in Virginia

Jobs in Virginia
400
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$146,240
median $148,030
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$86,140 avg · 1,570 jobs
Philosophy and Religion Teachers, Postsecondary
$92,250 avg · 620 jobs
Mathematicians
$146,240 avg · 400 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Philosophy programs in Virginia.

Which Virginia colleges award the most Philosophy degrees?+

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (53 graduates a year), University of Virginia (23 graduates a year) and William & Mary (16 graduates a year) award the most Philosophy degrees and certificates in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 18 Virginia colleges offer Philosophy.

How much do Mathematicians earn in Virginia?+

The average annual wage for Mathematicians in Virginia is $146,240 (median $148,030), across about 400 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Philosophy program?+

The Philosophy program offers a systematic study of fundamental questions related to existence, knowledge, mind, reason, language, and value. It is designed for students interested in engaging in rational and critical inquiry, reflecting…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop mathematics, critical thinking, reading comprehension, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mathematicians?+

The national job outlook is about -0.7% growth with around 100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card