Virginia · Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians

Best colleges for Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians in Virginia

Ranked by graduates a year

Virginia Peninsula Community College and Northern Virginia Community College award the most Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Virginia: 4 and 2 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 2 Virginia colleges offer Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians and award 6 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians program prepares students for careers in the dynamic field of communications technologies. This program focuses on the technical aspects of creating, managing, and distributing…

Institutions
2
offering CIP 10.02
States offered
40
with a program page
Degrees / yr
6
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
34%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Audio and Video Technicians
$60,630
BLS OEWS May 2025

2 institutions offering Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians in Virginia

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Virginia Peninsula Community College
Hampton Public
—434%——
2Northern Virginia Community College
Annandale Public
—233%——

Colleges awarding the most Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians degrees in Virginia

Top 2 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Virginia Peninsula Community College
Hampton Public
4Not reported
2Northern Virginia Community College
Annandale Public
2Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Audio and Video Technicians (SOC 27-4011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.3%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~7,300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$54,830
typically Postsecondary nondegree award

Top skills

MonitoringReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingWriting

What Audio and Video Technicians earn in Virginia

Jobs in Virginia
1,900
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$60,630
median $53,960
Best-paying metro
$55,850
Charlottesville, VA

Related careers

Audio and Video Technicians
$60,630 avg · 1,900 jobs
Broadcast Technicians
$57,520 avg · 710 jobs
Camera Operators, Television, Video, and Film
$66,460 avg · 420 jobs
Court Reporters and Simultaneous Captioners
$58,050 avg · 320 jobs
Lighting Technicians
$55,910 avg · 190 jobs
Sound Engineering Technicians
$66,070 avg · 120 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians programs in Virginia.

Which Virginia colleges award the most Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians degrees?+

Virginia Peninsula Community College (4 graduates a year) and Northern Virginia Community College (2 graduates a year) award the most Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 2 Virginia colleges offer Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians.

How much do Audio and Video Technicians earn in Virginia?+

The average annual wage for Audio and Video Technicians in Virginia is $60,630 (median $53,960), across about 1,900 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians program?+

The Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians program prepares students for careers in the dynamic field of communications technologies. This program focuses on the technical aspects of creating, managing, and distributing…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop monitoring, reading comprehension, critical thinking, active listening, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Audio and Video Technicians?+

The national job outlook is about +3.3% growth with around 7,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians in other statesMarylandMichiganUtahFloridaMaineAlabamaNorth CarolinaSouth Carolina

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card