Best colleges for American Sign Language in Virginia
Ranked by graduate earnings
Northern Virginia Community College, J Sargeant Reynolds Community College and Liberty University award the most American Sign Language degrees and certificates in Virginia: 36, 21 and 11 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 5 Virginia colleges offer American Sign Language and award 81 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The American Sign Language (ASL) program focuses on the study and use of ASL as a primary mode of communication within the Deaf community. Designed for students interested in linguistics and communication, this program offers a…
Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Liberty University Lynchburg Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $32,117 | 11 | 65% | $28,911 | — |
Colleges awarding the most American Sign Language degrees in Virginia
Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Northern Virginia Community College Annandale Public | 36 | Not reported |
| 2 | J Sargeant Reynolds Community College Richmond Public | 21 | Not reported |
| 3 | Liberty University Lynchburg Private not-for-profit | 11 | $32,117 |
| 4 | Tidewater Community College Norfolk Public | 11 | Not reported |
| 5 | Germanna Community College Locust Grove Public | 2 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091).
Top skills
What Interpreters and Translators earn in Virginia
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing American Sign Language programs in Virginia.
Which Virginia colleges award the most American Sign Language degrees?+
Northern Virginia Community College (36 graduates a year), J Sargeant Reynolds Community College (21 graduates a year) and Liberty University (11 graduates a year) award the most American Sign Language degrees and certificates in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 5 Virginia colleges offer American Sign Language.
How much do Interpreters and Translators earn in Virginia?+
The average annual wage for Interpreters and Translators in Virginia is $74,320 (median $63,030), across about 1,630 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the American Sign Language program?+
The American Sign Language (ASL) program focuses on the study and use of ASL as a primary mode of communication within the Deaf community. Designed for students interested in linguistics and communication, this program offers a…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Interpreters and Translators?+
The national job outlook is about +1.7% growth with around 6,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card