Best colleges for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Vermont
Ranked by graduate earnings
Vermont State University, University of Vermont and Champlain College are the top bachelor's Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Vermont by graduate earnings. Vermont State University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $42,290, College Scorecard. University of Vermont, Vermont State University and Champlain College award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Vermont: 78, 38 and 20 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 7 Vermont colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development and award 226 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focusing on various levels and methods, prepares individuals for careers in education. This program is designed for those who aspire to teach or work in educational…
Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vermont State University Randolph Public · Bachelor's degree | $42,290 | 38 | 47% | — | — |
| 2 | University of Vermont Burlington Public · Bachelor's degree | $41,720 | 78 | 79% | — | $23,250 |
| 3 | Champlain College Burlington Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $26,805 | 20 | 65% | $32,531 | $27,000 |
| 4 | Saint Michael's College Colchester Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $45,489 | 9 | 73% | $25,029 | $27,000 |
Top certificate or associate program
Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Community College of Vermont Montpelier Public · Associate degree | $31,610 | 78 | 20% | — | $10,357 |
Colleges awarding the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Vermont
Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Vermont Burlington Public | 78 | $41,720 |
| 2 | Vermont State University Randolph Public | 38 | $42,290 |
| 3 | Champlain College Burlington Private not-for-profit | 20 | $26,805 |
| 4 | Saint Michael's College Colchester Private not-for-profit | 9 | $45,489 |
| 5 | Middlebury College Middlebury Private not-for-profit | 2 | Not reported |
| 6 | Norwich University Northfield Private not-for-profit | 1 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 1 Vermont colleges offering Teacher Education and Professional Development
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Community College of Vermont | Montpelier | Public | 78 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education (SOC 25-2011).
Top skills
What Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Vermont
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Vermont.
Which Vermont colleges award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees?+
University of Vermont (78 graduates a year), Vermont State University (38 graduates a year) and Champlain College (20 graduates a year) award the most Teacher Education and Professional Development degrees in Vermont, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 7 Vermont colleges offer Teacher Education and Professional Development.
What is the best college for Teacher Education and Professional Development in Vermont?+
By graduate earnings, Vermont State University leads among bachelor's Teacher Education and Professional Development programs in Vermont, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $42,290, College Scorecard. University of Vermont and Champlain College follow. By degrees awarded, University of Vermont is the largest, with 78 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Teacher Education and Professional Development program in Vermont has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Vermont State University tops the list at $42,290. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education earn in Vermont?+
The average annual wage for Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education in Vermont is $52,520 (median $49,730), across about 940 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Teacher Education and Professional Development program?+
The Teacher Education and Professional Development program, specifically focusing on various levels and methods, prepares individuals for careers in education. This program is designed for those who aspire to teach or work in educational…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, learning strategies, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education?+
The national job outlook is about +4.1% growth with around 65,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card