Best colleges for Practical Nursing in Utah
Ranked by graduate earnings
Mountainland Technical College, Davis Technical College and Dixie Technical College award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Utah: 575, 483 and 304 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 16 Utah colleges offer Practical Nursing and award 2,900 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…
Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Davis Technical College Kaysville Public · Certificate | $26,369 | 483 | 57% | — | $8,048 |
| 2 | Ogden-Weber Technical College Ogden Public · Certificate | $24,690 | 278 | 53% | — | $9,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Practical Nursing degrees in Utah
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mountainland Technical College Lehi Public | 575 | Not reported |
| 2 | Davis Technical College Kaysville Public | 483 | $26,369 |
| 3 | Dixie Technical College Saint George Public | 304 | Not reported |
| 4 | Ogden-Weber Technical College Ogden Public | 278 | $24,690 |
| 5 | Bridgerland Technical College Logan Public | 266 | Not reported |
| 6 | Utah Tech University Saint George Public | 208 | Not reported |
| 7 | Uintah Basin Technical College Roosevelt Public | 152 | Not reported |
| 8 | Southwest Technical College Cedar City Public | 116 | Not reported |
| 9 | Snow College Ephraim Public | 109 | Not reported |
| 10 | Tooele Technical College Tooele Public | 70 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 6 Utah colleges offering Practical Nursing
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake Community College | Salt Lake City | Public | 187 |
| Eagle Gate College - Murray | Murray | Private for-profit | 54 |
| Utah State University | Logan | Public | 45 |
| Nightingale College (Online) | Salt Lake City | Private for-profit | 44 |
| Provo College | Provo | Private for-profit | 5 |
| Eagle Gate College - Layton | Layton | Private for-profit | 4 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).
Top skills
What Nursing Assistants earn in Utah
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Practical Nursing programs in Utah.
Which Utah colleges award the most Practical Nursing degrees?+
Mountainland Technical College (575 graduates a year), Davis Technical College (483 graduates a year) and Dixie Technical College (304 graduates a year) award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Utah, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 16 Utah colleges offer Practical Nursing.
Which Practical Nursing program in Utah has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Davis Technical College tops the list at $26,369. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Nursing Assistants earn in Utah?+
The average annual wage for Nursing Assistants in Utah is $40,450 (median $39,840), across about 12,260 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Practical Nursing program?+
The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active listening, monitoring, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Nursing Assistants?+
The national job outlook is about +2.3% growth with around 204,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card