Texas · Library Science and Administration

Best colleges for Library Science and Administration in Texas

Ranked by graduates a year

University of North Texas, Texas Woman's University and East Texas A&M University award the most Library Science and Administration degrees and certificates in Texas: 297, 256 and 33 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 5 Texas colleges offer Library Science and Administration and award 646 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Library Science and Administration program focuses on the study of the creation, organization, management, and use of recorded information. It prepares students for various professional roles in librarianship, information management,…

Related programs you can study
Institutions
5
offering CIP 25.01
States offered
38
with a program page
Degrees / yr
646
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
52%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Librarians and Media Collections Specialists
$72,400
BLS OEWS May 2025

5 institutions offering Library Science and Administration in Texas

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of North Texas
Denton Public
—29761%——
2Texas Woman's University
Denton Public
—25649%——
3East Texas A&M University
Commerce Public
—3343%——
4Sam Houston State University
Huntsville Public
—3355%——
5University of Houston-Clear Lake
Houston Public
—2752%——

Colleges awarding the most Library Science and Administration degrees in Texas

Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of North Texas
Denton Public
297Not reported
2Texas Woman's University
Denton Public
256Not reported
3East Texas A&M University
Commerce Public
33Not reported
4Sam Houston State University
Huntsville Public
33Not reported
5University of Houston-Clear Lake
Houston Public
27Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Librarians and Media Collections Specialists (SOC 25-4022).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~13,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$64,320
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingWritingMonitoring

What Librarians and Media Collections Specialists earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
9,150
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$72,400
median $71,860
Best-paying metro
$81,580
Laredo, TX

Related careers

Librarians and Media Collections Specialists
$72,400 avg · 9,150 jobs
Archivists
$55,360 avg · 490 jobs
Library Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$78,380 avg · 180 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Library Science and Administration programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Library Science and Administration degrees?+

University of North Texas (297 graduates a year), Texas Woman's University (256 graduates a year) and East Texas A&M University (33 graduates a year) award the most Library Science and Administration degrees and certificates in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 5 Texas colleges offer Library Science and Administration.

How much do Librarians and Media Collections Specialists earn in Texas?+

The average annual wage for Librarians and Media Collections Specialists in Texas is $72,400 (median $71,860), across about 9,150 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Library Science and Administration program?+

The Library Science and Administration program focuses on the study of the creation, organization, management, and use of recorded information. It prepares students for various professional roles in librarianship, information management,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Librarians and Media Collections Specialists?+

The national job outlook is about +1.7% growth with around 13,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card