Texas · Educational/Instructional Media Design

Best colleges for Educational/Instructional Media Design in Texas

Ranked by graduate earnings

Lamar University, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley and University of North Texas award the most Educational/Instructional Media Design degrees and certificates in Texas: 135, 90 and 55 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 20 Texas colleges offer Educational/Instructional Media Design and award 623 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Educational/Instructional Media Design program focuses on the systematic design, development, and delivery of instructional materials and experiences. It caters to individuals interested in creating effective and engaging learning…

Institutions
20
offering CIP 13.05
States offered
46
with a program page
Degrees / yr
623
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$24,321
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$29,227
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
48%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Instructional Coordinators
$81,800
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Lone Star College System
The Woodlands Public · Associate degree
$24,32118921%——

Colleges awarding the most Educational/Instructional Media Design degrees in Texas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Lamar University
Beaumont Public
135Not reported
2The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg Public
90Not reported
3University of North Texas
Denton Public
55Not reported
4Texas A&M University - College Station
College Station Public
19Not reported
5University of Houston-Clear Lake
Houston Public
17Not reported
6Sam Houston State University
Huntsville Public
17Not reported
7Texas Tech University
Lubbock Public
16Not reported
8The University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington Public
15Not reported
9West Texas A & M University
Canyon Public
11Not reported
10East Texas A&M University
Commerce Public
10Not reported
Show the other 10 Texas colleges offering Educational/Instructional Media Design
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Lone Star College SystemThe WoodlandsPublic189
Houston Christian UniversityHoustonPrivate not-for-profit9
The University of Texas at San AntonioSan AntonioPublic9
Texas State UniversitySan MarcosPublic8
Sul Ross State UniversityAlpinePublic7
Texas A & M University - Corpus ChristiCorpus ChristiPublic5
Texas A&M University - TexarkanaTexarkanaPublic5
Texas A&M University - VictoriaVictoriaPublic4
Dallas Baptist UniversityDallasPrivate not-for-profit1
Texas A&M University - KingsvilleKingsvillePublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Instructional Coordinators (SOC 25-9031).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.3%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~21,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$74,720
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Learning StrategiesSpeakingWritingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningMonitoring

What Instructional Coordinators earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
31,970
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$81,800
median $78,710
Best-paying metro
$87,970
Odessa, TX

Related careers

Training and Development Specialists
$69,910 avg · 46,630 jobs
Instructional Coordinators
$81,800 avg · 31,970 jobs
Librarians and Media Collections Specialists
$72,400 avg · 9,150 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Educational/Instructional Media Design programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Educational/Instructional Media Design degrees?+

Lamar University (135 graduates a year), The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (90 graduates a year) and University of North Texas (55 graduates a year) award the most Educational/Instructional Media Design degrees and certificates in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 20 Texas colleges offer Educational/Instructional Media Design.

How much do Instructional Coordinators earn in Texas?+

The average annual wage for Instructional Coordinators in Texas is $81,800 (median $78,710), across about 31,970 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Educational/Instructional Media Design program?+

The Educational/Instructional Media Design program focuses on the systematic design, development, and delivery of instructional materials and experiences. It caters to individuals interested in creating effective and engaging learning…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop learning strategies, speaking, writing, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Instructional Coordinators?+

The national job outlook is about +1.3% growth with around 21,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Educational/Instructional Media Design in other statesOhioMississippiAlabamaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaMinnesotaColorado

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card