Best colleges for Special Education and Teaching in Tennessee
Ranked by graduate earnings
Lipscomb University, Vanderbilt University and University of Memphis award the most Special Education and Teaching degrees in Tennessee: 70, 53 and 52 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 24 Tennessee colleges offer Special Education and Teaching and award 316 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Special Education and Teaching program prepares students to work with individuals who have a range of disabilities and special needs. This program is ideal for those who are passionate about making a difference in the lives of students…
Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Memphis Memphis Public · Bachelor's degree | $44,664 | 52 | 51% | — | $23,397 |
| 2 | Carson-Newman University Jefferson City Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $44,404 | 10 | 53% | $19,537 | $19,398 |
| 3 | Middle Tennessee State University Murfreesboro Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $44,052 | 8 | 54% | — | $18,493 |
Colleges awarding the most Special Education and Teaching degrees in Tennessee
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lipscomb University Nashville Private not-for-profit | 70 | Not reported |
| 2 | Vanderbilt University Nashville Private not-for-profit | 53 | Not reported |
| 3 | University of Memphis Memphis Public | 52 | $44,664 |
| 4 | The University of Tennessee-Knoxville Knoxville Public | 19 | Not reported |
| 5 | East Tennessee State University Johnson City Public | 15 | Not reported |
| 6 | Lincoln Memorial University Harrogate Private not-for-profit | 14 | Not reported |
| 7 | Lee University Cleveland Private not-for-profit | 11 | Not reported |
| 8 | Carson-Newman University Jefferson City Private not-for-profit | 10 | $44,404 |
| 9 | Freed-Hardeman University Henderson Private not-for-profit | 10 | Not reported |
| 10 | Tennessee State University Nashville Public | 9 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 14 Tennessee colleges offering Special Education and Teaching
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Middle Tennessee State University | Murfreesboro | Public | 8 |
| Tennessee Wesleyan University | Athens | Private not-for-profit | 8 |
| Tusculum University | Greeneville | Private not-for-profit | 7 |
| The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga | Chattanooga | Public | 6 |
| Tennessee Technological University | Cookeville | Public | 6 |
| The University of Tennessee Southern | Pulaski | Public | 4 |
| Trevecca Nazarene University | Nashville | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| Bethel University | McKenzie | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Cumberland University | Lebanon | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Fisk University | Nashville | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Le Moyne-Owen College | Memphis | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Welch College | Gallatin | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
| Johnson University | Knoxville | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
| Union University | Jackson | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Special Education Teachers, Preschool (SOC 25-2051).
Top skills
What Special Education Teachers, Preschool earn in Tennessee
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Special Education and Teaching programs in Tennessee.
Which Tennessee colleges award the most Special Education and Teaching degrees?+
Lipscomb University (70 graduates a year), Vanderbilt University (53 graduates a year) and University of Memphis (52 graduates a year) award the most Special Education and Teaching degrees in Tennessee, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 24 Tennessee colleges offer Special Education and Teaching.
Which Special Education and Teaching program in Tennessee has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Memphis tops the list at $44,664. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Special Education Teachers, Preschool earn in Tennessee?+
The average annual wage for Special Education Teachers, Preschool in Tennessee is $59,100 (median $59,550), across about 330 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Special Education and Teaching program?+
The Special Education and Teaching program prepares students to work with individuals who have a range of disabilities and special needs. This program is ideal for those who are passionate about making a difference in the lives of students…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, critical thinking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Special Education Teachers, Preschool?+
The national job outlook is about +1.4% growth with around 2,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card