Best colleges for Medicine in Tennessee
Ranked by graduates a year
Lincoln Memorial University, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center and Vanderbilt University award the most Medicine degrees and certificates in Tennessee: 368, 170 and 83 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 5 Tennessee colleges offer Medicine and award 782 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Medicine program focuses on the science and practice of caring for patients, encompassing the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of illness and injury. This program is designed for individuals passionate about health care and…
5 institutions offering Medicine in Tennessee
Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lincoln Memorial University Harrogate Private not-for-profit | — | 368 | 50% | $18,981 | — |
| 2 | The University of Tennessee Health Science Center Memphis Public | — | 170 | — | — | — |
| 3 | Meharry Medical College Nashville Private not-for-profit Graduate only | — | 87 | — | — | — |
| 4 | Vanderbilt University Nashville Private not-for-profit | — | 83 | 94% | $14,854 | — |
| 5 | East Tennessee State University Johnson City Public | — | 74 | 53% | — | — |
Colleges awarding the most Medicine degrees in Tennessee
Top 4 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lincoln Memorial University Harrogate Private not-for-profit | 368 | Not reported |
| 2 | The University of Tennessee Health Science Center Memphis Public | 170 | Not reported |
| 3 | Vanderbilt University Nashville Private not-for-profit | 83 | Not reported |
| 4 | East Tennessee State University Johnson City Public | 74 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 1 Tennessee colleges offering Medicine
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Meharry Medical College (Graduate only) | Nashville | Private not-for-profit | 87 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Family Medicine Physicians (SOC 29-1215).
Top skills
What Family Medicine Physicians earn in Tennessee
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Medicine programs in Tennessee.
Which Tennessee colleges award the most Medicine degrees?+
Lincoln Memorial University (368 graduates a year), The University of Tennessee Health Science Center (170 graduates a year) and Vanderbilt University (83 graduates a year) award the most Medicine degrees and certificates in Tennessee, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 5 Tennessee colleges offer Medicine.
How much do Family Medicine Physicians earn in Tennessee?+
The average annual wage for Family Medicine Physicians in Tennessee is $284,650 (median $226,830), across about 2,260 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Medicine program?+
The Medicine program focuses on the science and practice of caring for patients, encompassing the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of illness and injury. This program is designed for individuals passionate about health care and…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Family Medicine Physicians?+
The national job outlook is about +2.7% growth with around 3,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card