South Dakota · Physiology

Best colleges for Physiology in South Dakota

Ranked by graduates a year

Augustana University, Northern State University and University of South Dakota award the most Physiology degrees and certificates in South Dakota: 21, 21 and 1 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 3 South Dakota colleges offer Physiology and award 43 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Physiology program, officially titled Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences, is a branch of biological and biomedical sciences focused on the study of functions and mechanisms in living systems. This program is ideal for students…

Institutions
3
offering CIP 26.09
States offered
49
with a program page
Degrees / yr
43
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,011
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
61%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Exercise Physiologists
$57,010
BLS OEWS May 2025

3 institutions offering Physiology in South Dakota

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Augustana University
Sioux Falls Private not-for-profit
—2173%$23,011—
2Northern State University
Aberdeen Public
—2149%——
3University of South Dakota
Vermillion Public
—160%——

Colleges awarding the most Physiology degrees in South Dakota

Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Augustana University
Sioux Falls Private not-for-profit
21Not reported
2Northern State University
Aberdeen Public
21Not reported
3University of South Dakota
Vermillion Public
1Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Exercise Physiologists (SOC 29-1128).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+9.5%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~1,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$58,160
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionWritingMonitoring

What Exercise Physiologists earn in South Dakota

Jobs in South Dakota
30
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$57,010
median $51,630
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Biological Scientists, All Other
$75,890 avg · 170 jobs
Biological Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$83,890 avg · 160 jobs
Exercise Physiologists
$57,010 avg · 30 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Physiology programs in South Dakota.

Which South Dakota colleges award the most Physiology degrees?+

Augustana University (21 graduates a year), Northern State University (21 graduates a year) and University of South Dakota (1 graduate a year) award the most Physiology degrees and certificates in South Dakota, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 3 South Dakota colleges offer Physiology.

How much do Exercise Physiologists earn in South Dakota?+

The average annual wage for Exercise Physiologists in South Dakota is $57,010 (median $51,630), across about 30 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Physiology program?+

The Physiology program, officially titled Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences, is a branch of biological and biomedical sciences focused on the study of functions and mechanisms in living systems. This program is ideal for students…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Exercise Physiologists?+

The national job outlook is about +9.5% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card