South Carolina · Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians

Best colleges for Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians in South Carolina

Ranked by graduate earnings

Tri-County Technical College, Trident Technical College and Horry-Georgetown Technical College award the most Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in South Carolina: 81, 65 and 60 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 South Carolina colleges offer Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians and award 543 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians program prepares students for a career in the automotive industry, focusing on the skills needed to diagnose and repair various vehicle systems. This program is ideal for…

Institutions
12
offering CIP 47.06
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
543
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$30,639
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
30%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians
$56,650
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Greenville Technical College
Greenville Public · Certificate
$40,14012021%—$11,000
2Midlands Technical College
West Columbia Public · Certificate
$30,6393318%—$10,506

Colleges awarding the most Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians degrees in South Carolina

Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Tri-County Technical College
Pendleton Public
81Not reported
2Trident Technical College
Charleston Public
65Not reported
3Horry-Georgetown Technical College
Conway Public
60Not reported
4Florence-Darlington Technical College
Florence Public
51Not reported
5Piedmont Technical College
Greenwood Public
37Not reported
6York Technical College
Rock Hill Public
25Not reported
7Central Carolina Technical College
Sumter Public
17Not reported
8Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College
Orangeburg Public
14Not reported
Show the other 4 South Carolina colleges offering Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Greenville Technical CollegeGreenvillePublic120
Spartanburg Community CollegeSpartanburgPublic34
Midlands Technical CollegeWest ColumbiaPublic33
Williamsburg Technical CollegeKingstreePublic6

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians (SOC 49-3092).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+11.5%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~2,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$50,540
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingActive LearningMonitoring

What Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians earn in South Carolina

Jobs in South Carolina
230
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$56,650
median $56,490
Best-paying metro
$54,250
Spartanburg, SC

Related careers

Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics
$52,420 avg · 13,420 jobs
First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers
$78,430 avg · 10,140 jobs
Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists
$59,050 avg · 3,360 jobs
Coating, Painting, and Spraying Machine Setters, Operators, and Tenders
$50,320 avg · 2,780 jobs
Automotive Body and Related Repairers
$57,300 avg · 2,140 jobs
Engine and Other Machine Assemblers
$49,590 avg · 1,960 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians programs in South Carolina.

Which South Carolina colleges award the most Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians degrees?+

Tri-County Technical College (81 graduates a year), Trident Technical College (65 graduates a year) and Horry-Georgetown Technical College (60 graduates a year) award the most Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in South Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 South Carolina colleges offer Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.

How much do Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians earn in South Carolina?+

The average annual wage for Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians in South Carolina is $56,650 (median $56,490), across about 230 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians program?+

The Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians program prepares students for a career in the automotive industry, focusing on the skills needed to diagnose and repair various vehicle systems. This program is ideal for…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians?+

The national job outlook is about +11.5% growth with around 2,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians in other statesNorth DakotaHawaiiNebraskaNew MexicoUtahVermontIllinoisIndiana

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card