Best colleges for Psychology in Rhode Island
Ranked by graduate earnings
Providence College, University of Rhode Island and Salve Regina University are the top bachelor's Psychology programs in Rhode Island by graduate earnings. Providence College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $37,863, College Scorecard. University of Rhode Island, Rhode Island College and Providence College award the most Psychology degrees in Rhode Island: 279, 116 and 104 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 8 Rhode Island colleges offer Psychology and award 713 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Psychology program, specifically in General Psychology, explores the complexities of human behavior and mental processes. This program is ideal for students interested in understanding psychological principles and applying them to…
Top 5 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Providence College Providence Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $37,863 | 104 | 86% | $32,048 | $27,000 |
| 2 | University of Rhode Island Kingston Public · Bachelor's degree | $37,414 | 279 | 73% | — | $23,880 |
| 3 | Salve Regina University Newport Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $35,096 | 61 | 77% | $31,899 | $27,000 |
| 4 | Rhode Island College Providence Public · Bachelor's degree | $33,694 | 116 | 48% | — | $22,723 |
| 5 | Roger Williams University Bristol Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $32,289 | 68 | 69% | $34,648 | $27,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Psychology degrees in Rhode Island
Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Rhode Island Kingston Public | 279 | $37,414 |
| 2 | Rhode Island College Providence Public | 116 | $33,694 |
| 3 | Providence College Providence Private not-for-profit | 104 | $37,863 |
| 4 | Roger Williams University Bristol Private not-for-profit | 68 | $32,289 |
| 5 | Salve Regina University Newport Private not-for-profit | 61 | $35,096 |
| 6 | Johnson & Wales University - Providence Providence Private not-for-profit | 45 | Not reported |
| 7 | Bryant University Smithfield Private not-for-profit | 17 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 1 Rhode Island colleges offering Psychology
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Johnson & Wales University - Online (Online) | Providence | Private not-for-profit | 23 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Clinical and Counseling Psychologists (SOC 19-3033).
Top skills
What Clinical and Counseling Psychologists earn in Rhode Island
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Psychology programs in Rhode Island.
Which Rhode Island colleges award the most Psychology degrees?+
University of Rhode Island (279 graduates a year), Rhode Island College (116 graduates a year) and Providence College (104 graduates a year) award the most Psychology degrees in Rhode Island, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 8 Rhode Island colleges offer Psychology.
What is the best college for Psychology in Rhode Island?+
By graduate earnings, Providence College leads among bachelor's Psychology programs in Rhode Island, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $37,863, College Scorecard. University of Rhode Island and Salve Regina University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Rhode Island is the largest, with 279 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Psychology program in Rhode Island has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Providence College tops the list at $37,863. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Clinical and Counseling Psychologists earn in Rhode Island?+
The average annual wage for Clinical and Counseling Psychologists in Rhode Island is $104,670 (median $107,490), across about 420 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Psychology program?+
The Psychology program, specifically in General Psychology, explores the complexities of human behavior and mental processes. This program is ideal for students interested in understanding psychological principles and applying them to…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, active listening, writing, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Clinical and Counseling Psychologists?+
The national job outlook is about +11.2% growth with around 4,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card